Keeping Chickens is Super Fun & Valuable to the Sustainable Homestead! Here Are 4 Things for the Beginner to ConsidersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Chickens are a valuable asset in any sustainable reality. 


They eat weeds and scraps and bugs. Their poop nourishes the soil with nitrogen. Eggs can be collected for human consumption. Plus, eggs from homestead-raised chickens are far more nutritious than anything you can find in a store. If they are raised happy and healthy and honorably, the birds can be eaten as well. 

Here are 4 considerations for beginning to raise chickens:


FOOD Chickens can be allowed to roam out of their cage during the day, and they can be directed towards patches of land that need aeration and bug control. Bugs and worms are an easy and free source of protein for chickens. They also need greens and carbs for optimal health. We give our chickens weeds and sort our scraps for their feed. We find that our chickens don't like tomatoes, onions, citrus, banana peels, or avocados, so we sort these items to compost and feed the birds most everything else from our kitchen.


SHELTER Just like anybody else, chickens like a dry, draft-free home that is protected from the elements and predators. Hens will lay eggs even without a rooster present (roosters are only necessary for fertilized eggs), and they prefer nesting boxes, which are cozy little spots to lay eggs and brood.


WATER Chickens, like dogs, pant to release excess heat. They also drink water to cool off. Consider the weather when watering your birds; if it's extremely hot outside, they need much more water. Begin by providing one gallon of fresh water per 4 birds each day. Observe their behavior and adjust your watering schedule to fit their needs. 


CARE Obviously, chickens need to be watered and fed daily and secured from predators at night, and their coop needs cleaning once a week. Additionally, the flock should be kept healthy and happy for thrival. Behavioral and physical changes are obvious when you spend time with your chickens each day; sick birds may be uncomfortable and hunched over, could lose interest in eating and drinking, or might have breathing difficulties. Enjoy the developing relationship between your birds and their caretaker, and continue researching to develop optimal care!


Keeping chickens is a rewarding hobby! Your system will evolve with time and continued research and experimentation.









www.intothegardenofeden.com

 

Sort:  

They're trainable too. Every day I have an apple for lunch and bring my core home for the chickens. They see my truck and run to the gate. I've even come home late a few times and if there are chickens headed up the ramp into the coop for bed they jump down and run to the gate.

I really wish I could raise chickens, and had more land... but I live in la. So for now i just buy 3$ bags of chicken manure to add to the compost pile.

Oh, how I wish my town would let me have some hens. Great post!

I just this week started a hen rental from rentthechicken - 2 hens, a coop, and all the food they'll need for 6 months. My property is small and it is borderline legal, but the benefit is that if I get a complaint I can have them back at their home farm the next day.

Omg, I love you!!!! That is the coolest thing I have heard in a long time. Oh I would so be your customer. lol

No I AM the customer!! I am the renter! If you have any questions let me know! I just fed and watered the hens and now they are out exploring the (little) yard we have!

I find chickens to the most sustainable and valuable live stock/animal for homesteading, sustainable living, eco farming etc.
Even if your a vegan they are still a very useful and important part of an eco system.

yea its funny i find the practice of animal slaughter slightly horrifying .

Wow - sounds like an awesome project! I've always liked the idea of keeping chickens but have never got on and done it. I'd really like to keep bees too - although I have made a lot of homes for bumble bees in my garden so I guess I kind of do - had hundreds pollinating my raspberries this year!

Chickens are great if you have the space and inputs like food, water, and shelter for them. Bees are incredibly important as well! Anything that can be done to encourage bee populations is absolutely vital for all of humanity.

Voici d'excellents conseils pour débuter avec l'élevage de poules! Merci pour ce partage. J'ai élevé des poules et des poulets de chair pendant plusieurs années. J'ai arrêté depuis 2 ans car nous avons eu un 3e enfants et je manquais de temps, mais nous avons recommencé l'élevage cette année et j'en suis très heureuse! Je m'étais ennuyée d'avoir des poussins et des poules! :-)

Here are some great tips to start with chicken breeding! Thank you for sharing. I raised chickens for several years. I stopped for the last 2 years because we had a 3rd child and I ran out of time, but we started breeding again this year and I'm very happy! I missed chicks and chickens! :-)

Thanks for reading and commenting, @nature.sauvage! Great to hear you've re-activated your chicken keeping. It is so sweet to raise them!

We had a few chickens back in england, but we are planning on getting more thank you so much for sharing this I have followed you as I think you have valuable information.

Thanks for following, @crazybgadventure!
Yes it is our goal to continue providing valuable, useful information that can be used to create a better world for ALL!

I love farm fresh eggs! Great article!

You're great man...I always try to come by and read and support. I've wanted chickens for a while now...Your article literally has me going on Google to look up const of chickens. lol

Thanks for your support, @geechidan! It means a lot to us, and it helps us reach more people than ever.
Chickens are a really great addition to the homestead of any size! Hope you find much success and enjoyment with them~*~

I once keep chickens, so when u say valuable, I completely agree with u, its value cannot b over emphasized

Thanks for your input, @peman! They eat bugs & weeds, nourish the soil, AND provide food--that's a super important role on the homestead!

Youd have to look pretty far to find better ammendment then chicken manure and vermicompost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32