Raspberries! Monarchs(ORANGE Tuesday)! Rainbows! Oh MY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

What a long strange trip it's been! I have been playing some serious hooky up in Maine...Now back in NJ and not sure my head's on straight. I do know that I was not on the internet very much with just an iphone and ipad, and now in front of my computer...it's so big!

The last post I started (3 weeks ago!) but did not complete was about raspberries and how I was picking them by the bowlful. I intended to write about how raspberries were just like steemit...but can't conjur up why for the life of me!

Here are the raspberry pics:
raspberries 1.JPG
ripening on the vine
rasp 3.JPG
ready for picking!
rasp 4.JPG

And then one day a monarch butterfly! Hard to photograph with my iphone - so much fluttering around!

monarch 1.jpg
and fully open
monarch 2.jpg

and a favorite...One day after a rain a FULL rainbow and it was a double! The whole rainbow would not even fit in the iphone screen (I guess I could have used 'panoramic' but I am a dope sometimes!

rainbow 1.JPG

So back to reality (and back to work!!), but not before checking in on some of my favorite posters...Here's one about BIG STRIPED BASS! WOW! worth a look

https://steemit.com/adventure/@modernsuperior/holy-mackerel-the-perfect-bait-for-catching-huge-striped-bass

HAPPY GARDENING EVERYONE!!

@gardenlady

Sort:  

Wonderful post @gardenlady! I love your blunt, "this is real life" style of blogging :) That looks like a gorgeous raspberry bush and stunning double rainbow. Really enjoyed this :)

I love raspberries and btw you have been missed around here
i'm glad to bump into you in my post :)

aww, thanks! I've missed being here :-)

I hope you're well
been busy gardening too?

I've been doing plenty of gardening (it's an addiction!), but I've been on vacay visiting friends and family in Maine which resulted in lots of time away from the internet!
Hope you are well too :-)

am good busy with my 2 gardens too
but lovin it
am glad you had your vaca :)
we do need some time off the net
i had mine too

My first crop of raspberries were done weeks ago also. Second crop from the primocanes are just starting to trickle in now. Yellow jackets become a problem with the second crop.

Maybe you can help me @garden-to-eat !!!!
I keep reading about the primocanes and the floricanes and am getting confused! I get that raspberries grow on the floricanes (2nd year) but I don't see a crop coming in for the fall. I cleared out the old woody floricanes when the berries were done...now what? Do I leave the primocanes all winter? Do I cut them in the spring or leave them alone?
I have a hard time abiding yellowjackets - those scoundrels - I got bit 2 weeks ago on the neck :0(

I'm sure the type raspberries you're growing plays into it somewhat but I get new growth that sprouts from the ground each spring which are that years primocanes. They begin flowering after the second year canes (floricanes) are done producing which is mid to late July for me. The primocanes grow very tall for me and produce raspberries at the top in late summer and early fall. When they are done in late fall I cut the tops off and they become my floricanes for next year.

So do you have new canes coming in that sprouted this year? Here is my post on raspberries so you can see what my hedge looked like in the spring. The one cane poking out of my row cover is a primocane so you can see how high they get.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@garden-to-eat/the-other-red-berry

so I have cut all the old florocanes down - all the berries came from them. As of Monday, the green-shooted primocanes don't look like they will produce any fruit, but maybe they still will?

Maybe you have a different variety of raspberries that don't produce a second time.

This year I don't pick up raspberries, but I like so much eat them ^_^ Beautiful butterfly too! _^

Maybe it's because they require patience -- you have to put in the work and then wait to reap the rewards. We planted several raspberry bushes a few years ago and this is the first year we've been able to enjoy a bountiful harvest. It was more than worth the wait!

That's it!! thanks @redhens !

Congratulations @gardenlady! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Where have you been @gardenlady?
It has been so long since your last post haha
The raspberries look absolutely delicious and they must taste even better being homegrown.
Nothing better than an enchanting butterfly fluttering around haha
Great Photographs! :)

Like I said...been playing some serious hooky up in "Vacationland" (aka maine!)!
Can't get fresher than picking right from the vine!

It looks very delicious, it's been a while since I did not taste, indeed I live a desert place, thanks for sharing

Raspberries are just like Steemit as they get better and better over time!
The better you care (curator) for them the more raspberries you get!

Tasty looking raspberries.

Happy day for you too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55