PLEASE!! NO VOLCANOS!!! (deja vu for some of you!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

It's been a downpour of a day, so I'm stuck inside dreaming about my garden coming back to life and worrying that we are SO FAR behind with all of our clients because of the snowy rainy March. So I looked back at some of my first posts last May and June 2016, and thought here's an informative one!

**SO....here's a re-PEAT from last spring about MULCH. I did add a few more (internet) photos **

Hi Everyone!~

I'm here today to say one thing...No volcano mulching!

garden volcano mulching.JPG
(Well, actually, I am going to say more than one thing :-))

This time of year, many people have finished their spring clean-ups, planted a few new plants or shrubs, and have mulched their property. Mulching has it's place for keeping in moisture during dry periods as well as helping to keep weeds at bay....not to mention, mulch can have a tidying effect to the overall look of a flower/perennial garden or entire property. I personally do not use very much mulch. My plants in the garden are very mature and there really is not much dirt space showing, so no need for mulch. I only have a few bare spots in some hot areas that I have put some mulch down so that the ground doesn't get too dried out.

When it comes to shopping for mulch, look for a natural shredded hardwood (like pine or cedar)

mulch - shredded pine bark.jpg

and also consider these Do's and Don't's

DO use a natural mulch like organic shredded hardwoods (like cedar, or pine) There is also a more expensive mulch that has become popular called sweet peat (altho some people think it gets too hot for plants). The natural mulch has a chance to break down over time and actually may enhance the soil. You can buy mulch at any garden center or The Home Depot, but you might also want to try your town's dump- many chip and shred their own mulch from the spring debris.
DON'T use any mulch that is dyed! No Red. No black. Besides robbing the dirt of it's nitrogen, dyed mulch is just plain unnatural looking.
mulch - red.jpg

DO put mulch down in a light layer- maybe 2" deep
DO NOT put mulch down thicker than 2". It's unnecessary, water has a hard time getting all the way down to the dirt and roots, and besides, a waste of money! Those landscapers with their blowers will blow it all off by the end of the season anyway...there goes your $$ being blown to the curb :-(

DO place mulch around your plants, shrubs and trees, but just as close as the drip line.
DO NOT mulch right up to the base of the plants, shrubs, or trees. And never throw mulch right into the center of a shrub or plant! (I have seen this!) If mulch is up to the base (or ON the base), then water will have a harder time getting through to the root system AND also, the mulch will retain heat and can often burn and kill plants.

AND Remember....

NO VOLCANOS!

mulch - red and volcano.jpgugly red mulch AND volcano...heavens to betsy, what were they thinking!

Piling mulch around the base of a tree is just non-sensical. For starters, the water will not be able to penetrate down to the roots. Next, the roots will go looking for water which means they will actually stay closer to the surface and start to root into the mulch instead of rooting into the soil. If all the roots of a new tree are in the volcano, then in a couple years a big wind could just knock the thing right over.
mulch - volcano dead tree.jpg
Volcano mulching will also encourage unhealthy GIRDLED Roots that will choke your tree!
mulch - roots.jpg
Volcanos can be attractive to unwanted pests and insects which will break down the bark and also weaken the tree. Only mulch up to the natural collar of the tree:
mulch - incorrect.jpg

So there you go...the basics of mulching. And don't forget.... Enjoy your garden!!

Happy Gardening!

--GL

Sort:  

@gardenlady lovely post!
i wish I could give you more damn it
am too tiny my VI isn't that powerful
am about to unplug and I remember you

I never do volcano mulching here not advisable with the moist we have
pretty damp and humid and wet all the time - prone to mildew
and if not ants! black ones the type that delivers black aphids very very annoying!

Keep posting you!

thanks Ms. Chrivy!

@gardenlady - you're welcome
hmmm.. my account name is english - tchr - ivy ;)
so Ivy please not Chrivy
tchr = teacher :D

lol! I knew I didn't have it right, but I just couldn't figure it out! It's so odd, when I see your name, I always say to myself English T. Chrivy! I'll stop that at once!

@gardenlady no worries roelandp called me that too hahah
It's not a biggie really!
Thank you for the tip!

and thanks for link to Keukenhof. Very cool.

Thank you for posting @gardenlady.

Lovely post.....with useful information. Looking forward to gardening posts. Heres to a sunny day. Cheers.

Great tips milady!! I had never seen or heard of volcano mulching, the photos gave me a right good giggle!

It's a terrible practice done by "landscapers" aka the grass cutters aka the 'mow and blow'' guys. You can see it all around the US especially on corporate grounds and around malls and large parking lots and also in town parks. People are mulch crazy.

Wow, that's wild. They make them tidy it away here. I think because it is so damp that it would rot, then the tree would rot and just fall over!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83