Anyone looking for a little POT?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

pots 13.jpg

That's right, you guessed it....This post is about planting small pots with succulents! heehee.

I decided to plant fewer patio pots this year and I also decided that I would go with succulents that are not only adorable, but they can live with less water and thrive on hot sun.

So yesterday was pot day. It's always a messy affair.

pots 1.jpg

TIP #1 Keep some potting soil on hand and mix it with some water to make it moist...not soggy. You can see above in my purple bin, I've mixed in water with my soil knife. My soil knife is priceless! Can't work without it.

Tip #2 a twofer: crinkle up a plastic pot and place in the bottom of your pot. It will a) permit water to drain through without causing a huge amount of dirt to also drain through and b) it adds volume in your pot so that it doesn't have to be weighed down with enormous amounts of soil

crinkled plastic pot in bottom

pots 2.jpg

cover with a bit of potting soil before placing in plants

pots 3.jpg

Tip #3 When placing a plant into your garden or into a pot, ROUGH-UP the roots so they have a chance to grow and spread out. Often its roots are bound and dry from sitting at the plant center for too long, so you want to give it its best shot.

pots 5.jpg

Uh-OH! Where did my trusty soil knife go? And where are my clippers???

pots 6.jpg
heehee.

Tip #4 Okay, I don't really have a Tip #4! But here is my final display!!

pots 10.jpg
I LOVE my new gray metal containers. The secret to these are that I planted the plants in a plastic container that is just sitting inside the boxes :-) Anyway, aren't they pretty?
pots 11.jpg
another view
pots 12.jpg

Here's the pot that I used to demo the plastic crinkled pot secret:

pots 8.jpg
okay, one more view of the gray boxes
pots 12.jpg

So, now I hope you've enjoyed my POT tips :-)

Happy Gardening!

@gardenlady

pots 9.jpg
(all photos from my iphone 6+)

Sort:  

Great advice and pictures. :)

You did a very nice job @gardenlady. Your plantings and containers look beautiful! We love to plant flowers around our home and I must say you did an excellent job in the growing tips category.

i love succulents
they explode with cuteness specially put together
I could only keep them indoors though
too many aphids here

Nice job @gardenlady ,I will try some out in my Garden.

You are very welcome.

followed.

I'm new to steemit, and created my introduction yesterday. Thank you for the wonderful tips, and beautiful plant pictures. :)

Love the final display and loving the tips especially number two!!!

thanks meester!

Great article! Thank you for the useful crinkled plastic pot tip!

you're welcome @moen!

beautiful the final results...after all that mess around :)) happy weekend!

I've also followed.

Funny.
Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34