Happy plants this morning!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

I think I can finally feel that Spring feeling I was longing for! The sun has been beaming down which allowed for some enjoyable hours in the garden this morning. I have been tidying more paths (with Spring come all the wretched weeds appearing out of nowhere!) and the politunnel. After last week's shoddy display of rain I am finding more and more snails amongst my poor veg!

GC09-03-18-01.jpg

GC09-03-18-02.jpg

My purple broccoli and its celery friends are happily coming along, I have been consistently spraying them and all my other plants with soap water to get rid of the disgusting aphids and I think I can finally see an improvement. Phew!!

GC09-03-18-03.jpg

My peas are ever so prolific now - I have finally been able to enjoy some delicious fresh pods from the plant and boy were they GOOD!

GC09-03-18-06.jpg

I figured out what those odd cabbage/broccoli plants from my previous post were - not broccoli but in fact cabbages gone to flower due to inadequate climate conditions. I shall pull those up and move on!! You live and learn.

GC09-03-18-07.jpg

GC09-03-18-08.jpg

My broccoli are my most prized plants at this point! They look the most appealing if you ask me. The poor cauliflower doesn't know what to do with itself anymore! I shall leave it to continue growing until it seems ready and then eat it no matter the end result. I expect it shouldn't taste much different to a standard cauliflower head?!

I hope you liked this little look into my garden. How is the weather where you are? What is your garden looking like?

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Wow Every thing looks sooo good!! I'v got some seed in the ground but not as far along as you. 🤗

I'm glad you think so @hopfarmnc :) what seeds have you got on the go?

Hello @gardeningchef beautiful photos and story of your garden. If you don’t mind, where do you live we’re you see spring happenings? I live in the northern part of Iowa. Brrrrrr we still have lots of snow and ice covering the ground! It really starts warming up here at the end of April. Love the spring time here. In my backyard a few feet from my chain link fence you can see a decent sized natural pond loaded with bluegill fish. Surrounded by cornfields and a single giant willow tree. Soooo beautiful. Anyway every spring we have a large amount of geese that fly in and land on that pond all summer long. Some have goslings there so adorable. We love watching and hearing them land on the water. Then you can open up your windows and you can here the melodies of the bullfrogs at night, and even better the fireflies come out. Springtime yeah! Can’t hardly wait!

Thank you very much @lildebbiecakes, I am glad you enjoyed my post. I am currently in Spain, where the temperatures are starting to reach almost 20 degrees Celsius. Iowa sounds very cold but I am sure it all looks very beautiful with the snow, not long now until you'll be enjoying bullfrog song again!

I hope you will take some photos of the group of geese at the pond nearby, once they arrive. It sounds a dreamlike scenery :)

Oh I hope I remember to do that, then I send you a picture! Wow it’s cold there to. Stay warm friend❣️

LOOK at that broccoli! It looks literally- picture perfect!

Your garden is looking so healthy.

I am pretty proud of the broccoli I have to say ;)
Thanks so much for stopping by @goldendawne!

Your garden looks lovely @gardeningchef, nice work! I am quite fond of the peas and believe the cauliflower still has great potential. Not to take away from the rest of the garden.....but the broccoli does seem to be perfectly happy;0) Really enjoyed today's garden tour, thank you for sharing.

That's very kind of you to say @cryptomatters! I hope you are right about my cauliflower. The broccoli is perfectly happy indeed and it has two other broccoli friends which I hope will end up being just as beautiful as the first.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the tour. I'll be posting some more garden-y shots soon, my daffodils are itching to bloom for the camera!

Looking forward to the daffodils, they are always a welcomed sign that spring has sprung;0)

Couldn't agree more, can't wait to smell the freesias too!

Your veg garden looks really good. I like your peas, mine is 2cm high. I mainly plant leafy greens.

Hey @deepthoughtone, thanks for your feedback!
My poor peas could probably do with more of a support system to hold them up but now the little tendrils have gone wild I can't pry them off of each other, so I have a wild pea bush going on!

What are your favourite leafy greens?

Wow GC!
You have grown some SUPER food there!
And your photography is top notch ... SO professional!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thank you @icedrum for your lovely comment and U&R! :)

wow what a great post and beautiful photos. I would probably eat the cauliflower as it is and start some fresh ones off.
The broccoli also looks ready to eat.... you could pick cauliflower and broccoli and make a feast with the two!
For a first time gardener you are doing VERY WELL! Peas are downright AWESOME - I love them raw, straight from the pod.
upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you for your kind words and insight @sallybeth23 :)
I will take your advice and pick the cauliflower in the coming days, I just need to think of a good dish where it stands out in all its glory. I totally love eating raw peas too, they haven't made it much further than the poli they grew in ;)
Appreciate your U&R as always!
I hope you have a great weekend in Costa! How is your weather?

Wow I love your attention to detail. Maybe as it’s a small cauli you could pop it into one of your amazing curries.
Weather is dry here in the garden. Could really do with some rain..... they do call it the dry season but occasional rain is still to be expected usually...... slow to happen at the moment though and wells are begining to run dry in the village!

Cauliflower in curry could be a good shout - I will be making a tikka masala this weekend ;)

Sorry to hear your garden is dry at the moment - Costa goes from one meteorological extreme to the next by the sounds of it! I hope for everyone's sake that it rains soon, wells running dry does not sound good at all for the community.

Jealous of your garden here the weather is just good enough to start grow seedlings inside, but seeing your pictures is also a motivation :) Enjoy your vegetables.

That's very flattering to read that my photos/garden are a motivation for you! I hope your seedlings will grow happily indoors for now. What have you planted?
Thanks, I'm sure I will enjoy them when they are ready!

Its because it reminds me of the joy it brings.. .Potatoes beans berries tomatoes hopefully a few sunflowers. And now that I saw it in your post possibly cauliflower and broccoli.

That sounds like a brilliant variety of plants. I too am looking forward to planting some tomatoes when the time is right. Good luck with your cauliflower & broccoli venture!

Thank you :D

Yours vegetables plant is still growing as well !!
It will be delicious.
Here it was very cold last week, this weekend there was rain,
I planted some flowers and strawberries that I posted in an article.
Congratulations for the treatment with soap, it worked well!

I have just looked at your post, great work @archeothot!! Your garden is coming along lovely :)

Yes!
It's starting to take shape, still waiting for the vegetables here.

i am eagerly waiting for my celery seeds to sprout! many things are starting to happen, and then it feels like it just creeeeeeeeps along.

I hope your celery sprouts soon!! I didn't photograph my celery for this post but it is doing well so far. I'm waiting for big stalks!
I know what you mean when you say things start and then grind to a halt - hopefully the weather will even out and let our gardens flourish!

they just started popping up this weekend, hooray!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34