Sort:  

Maybe I missed it but what type of pest was hurting your trees. If it is an insect try drenches with frass to boost up the plant cell walls and immunity. I started adding fass to worm aerated worm teas and then top dressing the mixture after brewing. Has worked fantastic on all insect pest even the pine beetles that destroy whole large trees. Great looking garden you are going to get such a good harvest for all the hard work getting it put in. Really great. Up vote and resteemed.

Thank you @libertyworms!
I didn’t mention the name but it is plum curculio. Cuts into the young fruit and lays an egg which feeds on the inside of the young fruit.
I never heard of “frass” but I will look into it. And maybe brew some compost teas in here future. 👍😁

It is insect frass and really good stuff. I have seen it go in grow shops for $12 to $20 a lb but it is mainly from mealworms farms sifted out of the wheat bran. It is insect poop but very good stuff just like worm castings but builds up the resistance from insects like crab meal from the chitin. Look around on facebook and find a local mealworm breeder they will sell it for sometimes as low as $1 a lb. We sell 5 lb bags for $15. Great information here. I also run a facebook group about mealworms if you would rather find it there with all the account theft stuff going on I don't really click links. https://growingorganic.com/soil-compost/insect-frass/

we get corn weevils here that are a pain and confused flour and red flour beetles. Such a pain. Best of luck I think the frass will start to work for you.

i LOVE frass! ordered mine on amazon. works very well. cheers to crab and shrimp meal too. chitin!

If your happy with it that is great but if you want to save a little cash look around on social media and find a local mealworm farmer and get it super cheap in comparison. We do 5 lbs for $15 but I know some people do even cheaper. Just find out what they screen to. We screen frass to 1/30th which is super fine like you buy in the stores but if you want extra chitin with more shells you can request it at 1/20th or even ask them to scrap the shell sheds off the top of the bin before they harvest the frass. It is super light and would take tons to make any weight and can be added back to the frass or even ground up like egg shells. I top feed the shells on their own just for the chitin. If you don't find any cheap frass around you we drop our prices to $2 a lb for people to help cover shipping cost which a flat rate box is usually the cheapest at $13 for around 10 lbs depending on location. That ends up being just over $4 or so a lb which will stomp even bulk buys from most places. Just something to think about I run a mealworm group on facebook and am involved in several others if you are on the platform it may help our save a little $$.

thank you!!!!! this is stellar information!!!!!!!!!!!!

absolutely fascinating!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi, James. I've been watching your channel since last summer. I had started a steemit account a while back but didn't do much with it. Since you've mentioned it a few times lately, I was motivated to post some of my biology-themed videos. Oh yeah, and you've motivated me to get into building a food forest. Best of luck to you. -Dr. J.

That is so awesome @Lifeandbiology! That’s why I do this, to inspire others and show that anyone can do it. Stick with making the videos my friend. Something that helped me was trying to provide as much value as possible in the videos. For example education, inspiration, entertainment. Then the icing on the cake is the spirit which you deliver the service, that’s key. It’s not the lawyer who knows the most law that wins the trial, it’s the one who best prepares his case.

My videos often take several hours to prepare even though I don't do anything fancy. Like you, I want to pack in all the helpful information that I can.

beautifully said ;)

How are so many people oblivious to doing this. Fresh, clean food that is now almost self sustaining. I'm sure you've put a ton of work to get to this point but now you can really see your rewards fruiting. Great work!

I wish I could answe that lol 😂
Thank you @bluntsmasha! It’s been a decent amount of work, but the majority of the work is done now with the systems in place. I think most of my work this year will be cutting and pulling things out cause they grow so fast, and it’s dense 😆

brother!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks for mentioning me in this video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! woke up to a bunch of new subscribers, comments...and VIEWS!!!! thank you from my heart to yours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pure JOY!!!!!!!!

Your deserve it bro! Your garden is amazing and an inspiration to me!! 👌😁

awwww....my brother....YOU INSPIRE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please keep it COMING!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you so much!!!!!!!!

Your use of space is a gift my friend

The garden view is great. It will be more beautiful as the air temperature increases. @gardeningchannel thank you for sharing

Thanks @turkishcrew! Yeah it will, we just had a couple of dry weeks. They are calling for rain tomorrow, I’ll pray lol 🙏🏻

A shame about your peas. Your food forest is looking great though. The asparagus popping out of the ground is my favorite. Something about food just erupting out of the earth seems cool to me.

I've seen your presentation, pests are the main problem of plants even for large plants though, so to control it we need good spraying.
Like @gardeningchannel

If you would like to know more about gardening and permaculture please check out my blog and let me know what you think! https://steemit.com/permaculture/@mobios/get-shut-in-the-cold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56608.36
ETH 2976.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15