You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Experiment of Growing Peas in a Container vs Growing Peas in a plot in the Garden....

Yes I see that and with all the rain, it makes sense, but just look at how lush my climbing peas in my 4 X 8 planter is doing amazing in the exact same conditions. So it has to do with the size of the container in the wet conditions is my guess

Sort:  

Most likely yes, this is so interesting. I did notice my peas grew better in the hard, almost clay soil than in soft potting soil. Weird... This was the last year growing peas, I am rotating this year with beans. I think between the peas and zucchinis they leached my soil :(

Ah so you read my post about crop rotation. The sad part is, that this is first year crop in those pots and my 4 X 8 raised bed, as I had just had it built. Ya, all my soil is clay on the ground in my garden and nothing grows, I did try peas and nope, I had a horrible garden last year because I am on all clay, this is why I built my raised beds.

My family owns tabacco plantations and crop rotation is something I was taught early on as fungal growth is very common in soil in the case of tobacco. 🌱
I feel you about the clay, that's one reason I started composting and got chickens, the only things that grow here is chaparral, cactus, sage, oak and manzanita and I really wanted an edible garden. We had to dig out the clay and replace it in some areas and in others I just mixed in compost and chicken waste. I think those parts are better though. I honestly think in regards to your peas it had to do with the planter as you said.

Oh I wrote a little about my grandmother and her plantations today.💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51