Sort:  

Yes I see that and with all the rain, it makes sense, but just look at how lush my climbing peas in my 4 X 8 planter is doing amazing in the exact same conditions. So it has to do with the size of the container in the wet conditions is my guess

Most likely yes, this is so interesting. I did notice my peas grew better in the hard, almost clay soil than in soft potting soil. Weird... This was the last year growing peas, I am rotating this year with beans. I think between the peas and zucchinis they leached my soil :(

Ah so you read my post about crop rotation. The sad part is, that this is first year crop in those pots and my 4 X 8 raised bed, as I had just had it built. Ya, all my soil is clay on the ground in my garden and nothing grows, I did try peas and nope, I had a horrible garden last year because I am on all clay, this is why I built my raised beds.

My family owns tabacco plantations and crop rotation is something I was taught early on as fungal growth is very common in soil in the case of tobacco. 🌱
I feel you about the clay, that's one reason I started composting and got chickens, the only things that grow here is chaparral, cactus, sage, oak and manzanita and I really wanted an edible garden. We had to dig out the clay and replace it in some areas and in others I just mixed in compost and chicken waste. I think those parts are better though. I honestly think in regards to your peas it had to do with the planter as you said.

Oh I wrote a little about my grandmother and her plantations today.💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48