Cookbook Find at a Second Hand Shop.....Fellow Homesteaders.....Willing to share Recipes

Today I went to our local second hand shop to find some sweaters for the mitts I posted about and look what I found, just sitting there waiting for me to spend my 50 cents on it. It was screaming at me BUY ME. So I did.

Farmhouse cooking.jpg

This little find is my Christmas gift to me. I love it. It is published from Dublin Ireland so I am excited about learning some of the traditional ways of the Irish, as my father's side of the family has strong Irish roots. This brings back some good memories of spending my summers with my grandparents at their farm in Cape Breton. I learned so much about cooking from my grandmother. This is a picture of the farm.

grandma farm.jpg

This is the first Recipe that I am going to make for supper tonight. It's a Chicken Cobbler. I have never made one before let alone thought you could mix Chicken in a cobbler. I have made apple and blueberry cobbler before but never Chicken so I will let you all know how it turns out.

Chicken Cobbler.jpg

Just thought I would share my excitement of the morning with you all. Sometimes in life it is truly just the little things that can change a day and make you smile, this is one of those times.

Happy Trails Folks

Sort:  

Can hear the "buy-me-scream", hehe... kinda ringing in my ears here :-) Chicken Cobbler sounds great - tell me how it turned out!! Cheers from an "old-cooking-books-lover" in the Seven Mountains in Germany

Oh hello, here in Canada is hard to find cook books from other countries so I was really happy with this one. I am a book hog I have to admit. Winter is just setting in for us, so I spend a bunch of time cooking. I know there is the Internet but I like the tradition of getting flour all over the book. LOL

Oh, I can relate to that in detail, haha, just made a post in #hobbyhub some days ago with some of my favourite old cooking books - I have a collection of about 100 lol There is an energy in the paper and the pages with spots of sauce sprinkeled on them ages ago and greasy fingers having turned the pages.... now way to have any of this on the Internet ;-)

here is the link to my cooking books post - if you do not like links in your comments, let me know and I will take it off....https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@jkiw/the-magic-to-be-found-in-old-cooking-books-warning-one-might-get-addicted

It's all good my friend. I will absolutely take a peek and compare my embarrassing collection of cook books to yours. I am not a hoarder. Giggling. LOL

lol how did the Chicken Cobbler turn out?

Well, it certainly did not look like the picture, it wasn't pretty that's for sure but it was tasty. I had to tweek the recipe a little, as it tasted bland. Thanks for asking my friend.

Well, it looks like your typical chicken pot-pie filling.
chicken, onions, carrots, corn, water and cream.

But the biscuit dough topping is unusual.
It uses baking powder and not cream of tartar.
AND it uses an egg.

I thought that too, that it resembled the Chicken Pot Pie too but nope doesn't look the same. LOL I am excited to try this recipe this afternoon for supper. Thanks for the insight.

Amazing the universe it telling you something here learn your roots. Enjoy the cobbler

What a neat find. I've never made chicken cobbler before either. You reminded me I have an old Danish cookbook I want to get out and see if it has any cheap and delicious meals in it.

That's what I was looking for "Cheap and Easy". With a little one still at home and I am studying at University I need cheap and easy

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gardengirlcanada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

OMGosh! I love wandering around in second hand stores or the Goodwill looking through the books! SO many good things to find!

I do like finding old books in second hand shops, jumble sales or freecycle.

People seem to value 'real' books less and less these days and just throw them away. I really am not into Kindles and all that so I will always grab books when I can.

I got a whole box of home brewing books on Freecycle the other day, so that is my winter reading...

I just need to make enough shelves to store them all on now 😊

Yes Space is always a challenge. Home brewing. You should try Watermelon Wine in the summer. I made a post with the recipe months ago.

So many cookbooks, so little time! I like reading cookbooks, but I hardly ever use a recipe for anything, lol. Have you ever thought of doing one of those challenges where you do every recipe in a book?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40