Container Gardening Experiment ....GREEN BEANS...After the Frost...Update!

It's now September 6, and we had our first frost. My garden's are still full and thriving. I have lots of containers, and raised beds. Today I am going to reveal the three ways that I grow my green beans. It's an experiment so that I can learn which method has the best yields and the easiest to grow. Follow me to see the results.

sept 6 garden 9.jpg

This is one bucket that I grew some bush beans. I started these beans rather late, as part of my experiment, I planted this last week ish of July. There are a few beans and have been picking them off the plant for a week now. It seems to have weathered the first frost, as it is well established.

sept 6 garden 11.jpg

This is another bucket that I planted end of July. This variety is a pole bean. I chose not to put a trellis or lay it against a wall, as part of my experiment. I wanted to see how well it did by just letting it sprawl on the ground outside of the bucket. This plant is just about to flower, I remain hopeful it will produce, and it does appear to have made it through the frost.

sept 6 garden 10.jpg

Here are my pole beans in flower, planted late July.

sept 6 garden 12.jpg

This is my large planter. I had fun with this. I planted back in June bush beans and let them deplete themselves, they were plentiful, until the slugs attacked them. After that, I decided to plant end of july pole beans in between the bush beans and let them climb. They are now all a bloom and have also survived the frost. Last year my pole beans were plentiful up until the 10th of November when I picked my last green bean, from this planter, and I did not cover or protect it during the deep frost.

sept 6 garden 13.jpg

This is my final green bean planting. It is in my cinder block raised bed. It was also planted in late July. They are now in flower and I am confident I will be picking these bush beans next week. They also appear to have weathered the frost. Perhaps because it is in a raised bed.

So all in all I believe that so far the blue planter has provided the best harvest, of both pole and bush beans with a continuous opportunity for picking throughout the entire short growing season Planting in early June Bush Beans and again planting Late July Pole beans. I hope this will encourage others to extend and experiment with their growing.

This is an exciting time for me, as I have been trying to grow a pumpkin for a few years now and YAY me, I managed to get one little guy. It's small but I will take it.

Sept 6 garden 5.jpg

Happy Trails

Sort:  

Your late green beans look awsome! We usually have our first frost around this week. Haven't yet. Bunnies ate all my late planted green beans . I do pretty good with pumpkins here.

Thank you. Darn Bunnies. LOL Now following. Happy Gardening and good luck with your frost.

I also raise my beans in raised beds. Don't have a problem with frost but rather with torrential tropical rains severe dryness in our second growing season. Experimenting now with a third season to see what happens...

Awsome always happy to hear that others are encouraged to experiment as well. Happy Gardening

The holes in those leaves look like they are from caterpillars. You might want to try to spray a mix of neem oil and dish soap. This helps keep the numbers down, but it smells a little.

Really I don't see any signs of caterpillars, we typically never do have them. I have been treating for slugs because of all the rain. Thanks for the tip I will try that.

I am planning for my garden in the spring here. I have to get the ground ready. Just got the well in a few months ago, was waiting for that to happen, so it is time to get the garden in. Have you tried to do sugar peas yet?

Yes I have and have had great success. I planted them in my containers in late June. They turned out ok, but not the yields I had hoped. Next year I will plant in a larger planter with the string to grow up. Thanks

Your first frost? Already? Oh man, that means I'm not too far behind.
I've noticed it getting a little cooler every evening and morning, but I am SO NOT ready for frost yet

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @goldendawne. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gardengirlcanada to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Yes mam, it's a comin.....you better put a wiggle in it...LOL Thanks

The beans are all looking good! I would say this experiment was a success!

I ran out of room in my raised beds this year so I planted runner beans (pole beans) in four 30 litre tubs. I put half a dozen seeds in each tub with a bamboo trellis and left them to do their own thing.

They have done very well. We have been getting two or three meals from them every week for a couple of months now.

The only problem has been when they blow over in the wind. Need to find a way to anchor them down better.

You've done really well with your beans, better than I have. :-)

thank you, despite the rain. What happened to yours?

I had a lot of trouble getting the pole bean seeds to germinate, I had to replant 3 times to get what I ended up with. They didn't start producing beans until a couple of weeks ago.
The bush beans did pretty well for a while, but then I got some kind of mold on the stems that killed the plants. I think the plants were too wet for too long. I did get several pickings from them before they got the mold.

yes I had a few of my other plants that produced mold because of the amount of rain and lack of sun. Growing in heights is the best way to avoid mold. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82