Sort:  

That's a happy plant you had there. The one I moved outside is a climbing variety called tromboncino squash. I'm not sure a non climbing variety would like growing straight up like that.

Oh okay it makes sense now. I didn't realize there was a climbing variety of squash.

Didn't know about them either, it's the first time I'm growing them from seeds I've found by accident on ebay.

Always nice to have a space saver. I like zucchini though. Must be the italian coming out of me. The plants have really gotten too large in the past as you can see. I didn't grow the hairy vetch there last winter so maybe the plant will stay a little smaller this year with less nitrogen in the ground.

I see you have a lot of things growing up strings. Someone else posted that too. I never really used strings but maybe I will give it a try.

Strings are great for the tomatoes I chose. I grow only the indeterminate type ones and I remove all suckers to keep a single stem growing. After the first tomatoes set I remove all the leaves under the truss. The indeterminate tomatoes don't stop growing so when they reach the top you can give the string a bit more slack, push it along the line above and lower your plants this way.

I grow early girls and romas for cooking. The romas do well in baskets but the EGs grow straight up. I start toping in June and let some suckers go to discourage them from going straight up but they still 9 or 10 feet high. By August I'm using a ladder to pick. I'll put some pictures out in August. I have a tomato secret I'll let everyone in on when I post on tomatoes.

Nice! Can't wait to see them and the big secret reveal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45