Skunked!

in #gardening6 years ago

P_20180720_175435_HDR.jpg

So the other day I posted about how something had been eating my tomatoes and @sunlit7 asked if maybe it was a skunk. I think she was probably right because my dog got skunked the day before! I used a product called Natures Miracle, it was not exactly a miracle but it helped some, the next day I applied the Mythbusters formula of baking soda, peroxide and dawn dish soap, several times. I am pleased to say she was back upstairs in 24 hours, I think she spent a few days in the basement last time. So I dealt with the stink and I know its a skunk eating the tomatoes, does anyone have any bright ideas for getting rid of a skunk? As you can see it seems to be eating all my tomatoes, I should have a whole mess of ripe ones instead I have two and I sure don't want my dog to catch another snoot full

a2.jpg

The cucumbers keep coming strong so I decided to make some fresh pickles, or more precisely I implored the wife "can you make some pickles or a salad or do something with these cucumbers?"

P_20180720_181012_HDR.jpg

Apparently she could and they were delicious. But what to do with the basil? Turns out that fresh basil in the mac and cheese makes the wife want seconds.

P_20180720_181628_HDR.jpg

note the chiffonade

P_20180720_175054_HDR.jpg

So far I have picked nine cucumbers from this one vine, not bad for a container. My plan at the moment is to beat a retreat for now but seriously, does anyone know what to do about a skunk?

Check out my last garden post:

What's in the garden today?

This is an @funbobby51 original, all text and photos are mine and all rights are reserved, please comment and resteem and upvote generously, my other BMW is still in the shop

Sort:  

Poor doggy....I guess that's not his favorite spot to sleep, look at those eyes, saying awe dad not the cage.

she loves the crate, she does not like being left in the basement, she was a rescue and it took me like a year to be able to get her to go down the basement steps, I think they used to lock her in the basement a lot.

Funny how we can only sit around and surmise what led our pets to the path of a shelter. I was just telling my son yesterday not to leave the hot dog buns to close to the edge of the table. The dog will bring you a bag of bread/buns to open to give him one. His obsession with bread and chewing sticks along with the fact he had heart worm when he got to the shelter leads me to believe that who ever owned him may have left him outside a lot. The people may have fed birds bread which he helped himself to, and chewed on a lot of sticks for entertainment. He quite
often brings sticks onto the back porch and chews them into a nice little mess for me to clean up. I don't think it was because he wasn't housebroken, he's good about that, as much as it may have to do with his regurgitation as a result of having Myopathy. It can be controlled somewhat by limiting the amount of food and water intake at the same time. Usually limiting his two cup size bowl of water to 2/3 full and one cup of food at a time works out pretty good.

that's funny, my dog loves rolls. She will leave better fare on the counter and take a whole bag of rolls in the other room and tear a neat whole in the bag and eat them all. She left some meat on the counter and ate a whole plate of fried zucchini the other day. That gave her the shits.

we know that she lived with a family in a big house somewhere in the country but they got divorced and the mother got the dog and the father got the house and kids so she lived in a crate eating peanut butter until she gave her up so her teeth are shit. The lady was fat and never took her for a walk.

we don't know if the dog is why they got divorced but sometimes we suspect she might be. have you tried dinovite?

No I haven't, might try it for the shedding, he's a healthy eater, there isn't much that he doesn't like. The regurgitation is linked to his illness. He sheds profusely though.

you may find all of his problems clear up after a week or a few of dinovite. I thought Chloe was going to die 5 years ago, when she was 9, when I started feeding it to her. she is doing great, I save money by buying the largest box even though she is not the largest dog. Her coat was very very thin before she started eating it but now it is thick and shiny (thick for her anyhow), the neighbors made a comment after she was eating it for like 3 days.

This dog sheds really bad, I thought my Dalmatian shed bad but this dog is worse then my longed hair cat in the spring. He sheds all year long like that. His hair also sticks in the fabric of my car, if I take him somewhere without a blanket covering the seat it could take me a hour to get all the hair unstuck.

Are you on the Bittrex exchange? I wanted to convert some Byteball over to steem but that exchange wants a drivers license and selfie plus other personal information.....I am just not that trusting to hand over all that info.

I don't have any other accounts, I have not tried to cash anything out. Let me know if you get one going and how it works out, you did the byteball thing?
I used to get a hand covered with hair, even though she had so little , when I would pet her, now none.

Some local shelters will loan out or rent out cages to trap critters in...you could check out that angle.

I was thinking about buying one, but then what the hell do you do with it/ dispose of it so it doesn't stink up the whole world?

Hey, @funbobby51. Sorry about the skunk. We have them around where we live, but so far none have come into our garden. We live in a rural community of quite a few homes now, so the skunks tend to stay away unless they're crossing the road at night and get hit or something. I'm afraid I don't have any answers for them eating your tomatoes.

I'm wondering, though, are the tomatoes already ripe, or is the skunk eating them green?

The cucumbers seem to be coming on well. Onions, peppers and zucchini are all coming on, too. Cherry tomatoes are actually ripening but the rest haven't gotten there yet.

Hopefully someone will have some ideas and firsthand knowledge what to do with the skunk. I'm guessing this must be a first time problem, as far as you're aware, or your poor dog probably would have been dosed already. :)

It has been eating the ripe ones although I saw a green one with a bite out of it as well. Peppers are going nuts, I am going to try to get a post out about that today. My dog was skunked like 7-9 years ago and has not had a problem since, I don't think she was looking for this one, it's obviously hanging out in my yard. I think I might trap it and then see if the state or animal control will take it away.

Nice looking cucumbers. Grateful to not have to deal with skunks here in Thailand at all, ever! :)

That is nice, they are a real nuisance, don't you have poison snakes or something?

escelente post very good photography I loved the gastronomy of the pasta esquisita

thank you

This post has received a 8.93 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84