Cucumber Suprise

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

So I pulled a few cucumbers out of the garden today, this was the first day I harvested any actual vegetables, some green bell peppers I pulled off and ate the good part of because they had brown spots, a few cherry tomatoes and these beasts:

P_20180713_163748.jpg

I noticed there was a cucumber there a few days ago but I forgot about it and it got huge, this is my first time growing cucumbers in a container so I didn't know how it would go. I selected a "bush" type cucumber so it would not take over the whole driveway. The container is called "city pickers" and is available from the depot, it has a reservoir in the bottom that holds a couple of gallons of water in it, they work pretty well.

P_20180713_163415.jpg

For a first flush from this vine I am pretty pleased, that's sure more cucumbers than I want to deal with, any ideas?

P_20180713_163755.jpg

Did you get any surprises in the garden today?

This is an @funbobby51 original, all photos are mine, all rights retained. Please resteem, upvote and leave a comment, I need a new boat

Sort:  

The look very nice. I just harvested our first cucumber and our first zucchini 2 days ago. Sadly our Tomatoeplant is ill and we have to remove it.

does it have bugs or a disease?

A disease.

soak it down with either a solution of sulfur or if you don't have that water it with milk.

Thank you for the Tip.

next year water it with aspirin water when it is little.

Thank you I will try it.

Didn't have time to prepare a garden this year but I got a few accidental pumpkins and of coursemany strawberries from the plants I put last year :D I am Low on VP but I will resteem to help the boat fund too :D

"any ideas?"

Use them to stimulate your prostate perhaps?

Some other guy had that same idea, I'm not that hard up. I warned him that these have spikes.

Wow, those are some great cucumbers! My vote would be for fermented pickles. I tried to make some a while back, but they were a failure... I want to try again!
If the seeds are too big I bet you could still get away with peeling and seeding them first.
If you dont want to deal with it, well, they make good chicken food. ;)

I decided to chop some up and put it with some tomato on some nan bread and then I put a sliced ribeye on top with some tzatziki sauce.

i think you should have kept them to take the seeds out of them...i don't think you can eat them in this size!!!...

the really large one might be a little past but the others are about the same size as you would get in the supermarket.

Nice cucumber mate. It has some nice girth on it, I am sure it has a lot of functional uses, besides making a nice dish, and being used as a face mask. wink Enjoy your cucumber mate HAHAHAHHAA

If you are suggesting penetrating yourself or others with it I would suggest a spineless variety, these are pretty spikey.

Congratulations @funbobby51! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15