Sort:  

This is true, which is why I love my raised beds.

I did the opposite. I dug a ditch and filled it with bought dirt.
Of course, it took some effort just to create a 2 foot wide, 1 foot deep and 6 feet long ditch.
I plan on expanding it some in the fall.

Nice! The raised beds were nice this year as when the heavy rains came the aisles in my garden were completely flooded by my plants were high and dry. Given the clay soil you noticed , much of the water runs off and pools in low areas. My entire garden is in a (slight) low area.

I'm not positive and I really won't know until I dig it up, but I think the clay has been helping keep the soil moist in that garden. I also have garden plastic on top to prevent it from drying out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65