Tilling done on main garden! YAY!

in #gardening6 years ago

My back is thanking me for being done for now too!


It started out with 1/3 of the garden needing to be tilled this morning. My days are erratic a bit due to the boys, so I usually need to wait until the youngest goes down for his nap before I do any major work. Today was a later day and I didn't get started tilling until 2pm and finished about 5:30. That included my interlude to put up the basketball hoop for the boys so I am not terribly concerned.

IMG_20180420_1354319095.jpg

There were a few rocks but nothing of huge size. I have worked hard to get the rocks out of my garden plots over the years, so when I find large ones it upsets me a bit. I know I make too much out of it, but it is just my personality. I managed to get it tilled up to the fence posts this time so I will now have ot cover it with plastic to keep the weeds down.

IMG_20180420_172605997_HDR3.jpg

The next chore is to use the 36 inch wide landscaping rake to level out the soil in the garden. You can see the ridges that are left after the tilling and those need to be knocked down.

IMG_20180420_172621570_HDR4.jpg

A quick raking and I can get the irrigation laid back down. Once that is in place the plastic goes over the top and then seeds go into soil. I would always like to be planted sooner than I am, but I can only work as fast as I can.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Wow nice work. Hope you could finish it sooner

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

That's nice.I m here in Texas just harvested by 1st harvest of green pepper and bush cucumber
20180415_120503(0).jpg 20180415_120518.jpg

With all due respect.... you suck. You southern tier gardeners are so lucky to have nearly year round growing conditions. Northern tier is such a pain in the ass for season length. Those look really nice and especially so since it will be months before I see such things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43