I took a break from tilling to do something for my son

in #homesteading6 years ago

Working alone requires ingenuity and a modicum of safety.


I have been looking at the old basket ball hoop and back board that has been sitting around for 8 years. It has sat in a few places around the yard, being moved when it gets in the way. It is not a new setup, it is probably 45+ years old, but it is a thick heavy rim and solid plywood backboard.

So it started with the shorter ladder placed against the tree.

001.jpg

I then moved the extension ladder next to the shorter.
002.jpg

I lifted the hoop and set it on the short ladder and slid it behind the taller. It worked perfect that I could hook the rim on one of the ladder rungs, kind of locking the whole setup together.
003.jpg

Though not the most stable it was still more than enough for me to be able to climb the taller ladder and screw a lag bolt and washer into the top of the back board.
004.jpg

Sunk fully and tightened down the back board is surprisingly vertical. I had to add a single shim behind it and a long nail under the rim to keep the board from rotating.
005.jpg

4 1/2 years old and the rim is at 6 feet. He can just get his small basketball into the hoop. I think this will be sufficient for him for the next few years until he is comfortable with the full size ball. Then I can raise it up to regulation height. He is quite happy with it and I am enjoying it already.
006.jpg

Enough of my diversion for a while... I have tilling to get back to!

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

He is going to get so much use out of that! Great job, @flemingfarm!

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65809.66
ETH 2680.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95