First harvest of the year

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Our rhubarb are kicking into high gear and today I went through and thinned them out a good amount. The massive leaves work really well as a tray to hold the cut stalks so they aren't getting dirt on them. 8 pounds of stalks went into the house.

I cut all the stalks up into pieces ready to be bagged and frozen. We are going to spend time this afternoon doing some baking with them as well.

I have finally refined my eye for harvesting the rhubarb. It is all based in the leaf and how it looks. If a leaf is showing signs of yellowing then it is cut. That yellowing is a precursor to the stem softening and it becoming unusable.

Posted using Partiko Android

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

So jealous I Wish I had space to have a garden large enough

I have seen people plant rhubarb in half barrels and get a nice harvest from them. They can then be shuttled around a yard as needed instead of taking up a large portion of soil.

Mmmm.....rhubarb pie.......

I made a rhubarb crisp since I didn't feel like dealing with crust. Still came out great though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69