Sort:  

they are mentioned in many of my blogs. I'm a master gardener so I do all the things they do as far as identifying pest and plants etc... just not soil samples... I send those off! Let me know if you ever have any questions.

Right on! Good to know!

I have my Permaculture certificate and did all but two of the master gardener courses (the ones that don't give you certification) provided through Oregon State University.

How does it work when you learn identifications? Do you know insects too? I have this one wasp guy I can't figure out.

I have the permaculture certificate from OSU also! Small world! We're you last year or this year? I almost took this year's again because of the improvements but I was in the middle of my small ruminate production class for my Journeyman Farmer Certification.
I have mostly self taught ID on plants, insects, etc. But I had to get my pesticide applicators license in NC and GA for school and job. I have always been organic in my gardens! Those require a lot of pest knowledge to study and pass. Plus a college course in pest. Hands on in gardens since born is helpful too. Both of my parents are horticulturist. I was raised on a small sustainable homestead. My mother has created a permaculture Paradise in our old backyard.
I am a Georgia certified landscape professional which is a rigorous test procedure but it is half on plant ID. I have worked with the state botanist cataloging native plants in a nearby state park.
I am being long winded, sorry! Insomnia makes me chatty! Lol!
I would love to help with any ID's. I certainly don't know everything but I can key out anything usually.

I took it last year! :) I took the intro also last year and tried this year but just couldn't do it. Too much happening and not enough motivation or attention span. I'm glad they made it into an ebook! I would have loved and rather taken the full course again but $800 is just too much. I guess they're going to start the second course up again, doubt I'll be able to take it, just too expensive. That and I don't want to do it for a job or anything.

I'd love to take more farming classes but they'd all have to be online or local. Most everything is held on the other side of the Cascades because that's where OSU is. Silly cause there's A LOT of farmers and stuff out here too!

Wow! You are an ultimate wealth of knowledge then! Real neat your life and how you turned out keeping with it, that's great!

I did not grow up with anything farm like, just a little gardening here and there! My first real garden was in 2015 after we got back from being stationed in Germany. Last year's garden was a bust for everyone in Central Oregon and this year is a bust for me due to ground squirrels (little shits I tell ya - we're gonna go with raised beds next year I guess).

I don't imind chatting! I'll send a pic of the wasp guy.

Nice talking withyou!

Here's the guy!!
wasp

A bunch hung out on the currant bush before the blackbirds had their nest in there.

I believe it is in the pompilid wasp family. So it eats spiders mostly and is what I consider a beneficial insect. I can't find an exact match for this coloration though...

That's what my issue was also! There's lots here, may just have to send it off to Ask an Expert!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83