Easy Pest Control! My Organic Approach To IPM!

in #gardening7 years ago

wpid-wp_20131001_010.jpg Attract beneficial insects with flowers!

Integrated Pest Management or IPM is ...

an ecological approach to pest management that combines understanding the causes of pest outbreaks, manipulating the crop ecosystem for pest control, and monitoring pest populations and their life cycles to determine if and when the use of pesticides is indicated.

---dictionary.com


The basic idea is that if you really pay close attention to your garden you can prevent pest populations from getting out of control and if and when they do you can use the least toxic control methods first. The goal here is to impact our natural environment as little as possible and still feed our families. There will always be some pest in your garden and that is okay! They are the menu items to entice beneficial insects to come by for a snack! There is a certain balance in the pest community, that once achieved, is very effective! Mother nature balances things out if we allow her to. Not every leaf or fruit has to be unblemished to have a successful harvest!

Monitoring:

It's as simple as strolling through your garden on a daily basis! I do this in the morning with my coffee and find it to be my favorite activity of the day! Just walk through looking at your plants and notice any changes in them. Are they beginning to wilt? Turning brown or yellow? Are there holes or spots on leaves? If you catch the problem early on you can take the steps necessary to ensure a healthy garden!

Identifying:

Once you do see a negative change it's important that you identify what is harming your plants! Proper identification is key to proper treatment. Look closely at the damage and narrow it down, take pictures of the damage and any insect you see. If you need to identify an insect, your local County Extension Office can assist you. There are also tons of web pages and Facebook groups that can help! Each pest or family of pests has a different method of controlling it. Knowing its life cycles and timing your treatment accordingly can save you a lot of time and money.

Prevention:

Using control methods listed below in this order will help prevent most problems.

Controls:

  1. Biological - This is where all those beneficial insects I keep talking about become so important! If you allow the predators to thrive they will eat most of the bad bugs for you! So invite the good bugs in and don't use pesticides that harm good and bad bugs!
  2. Cultural - Creating a prime environment for plants and not pests is a balancing act at times. Give your plants everything they need to be their strongest. Keeping plants healthy and weed free can protect them from being a target for pests and disease.
  3. Mechanical and Physical - Can be as simple as mulch to keep weeds out and fences to keep out browsing mammals. Also, bait crops and traps for pest can be another way to control.
  4. Chemical - This is when you reach a point where nothing else above has worked! It's important that you start with the least harmful, most target specific control chemical in an organic option. They must be applied correctly and at the right time to be most effective and least harmful.
So get out there with your coffee and observe your garden! Feel empowered that a few pests can be a good thing because you are balancing your ecosystem so that Nature can work for you! A vlog from the beginning of month touching on pest control!

Thanks for Watching and Reading!
wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg
*****Please Follow, Resteem, Upvote and Reply down below! Thanks!*****

Sort:  

I agree, let nature do what it ment to do-keeping the balance ...there`s no need for pesticides ....very good and informative article Rose! thanks :)

This is great! I really want to pursue organic methods in our garden. It's our first year gardening in Georgia and I am running into lots of pest issues I'd never encountered before.

Let me know if you have any questions! I am very pest savy!

Thank you for this post. Good information.
Aren't you good to pass on to us all that knowledge that your mother gave to you.

How funny! I just posted about Local Extention Offices today!!

This is a great useful article! Really. A pleasure to read. Gotta get the umph to watch the video... Don't really know how to attract those beneficial guys over here! :D

they are mentioned in many of my blogs. I'm a master gardener so I do all the things they do as far as identifying pest and plants etc... just not soil samples... I send those off! Let me know if you ever have any questions.

Right on! Good to know!

I have my Permaculture certificate and did all but two of the master gardener courses (the ones that don't give you certification) provided through Oregon State University.

How does it work when you learn identifications? Do you know insects too? I have this one wasp guy I can't figure out.

I have the permaculture certificate from OSU also! Small world! We're you last year or this year? I almost took this year's again because of the improvements but I was in the middle of my small ruminate production class for my Journeyman Farmer Certification.
I have mostly self taught ID on plants, insects, etc. But I had to get my pesticide applicators license in NC and GA for school and job. I have always been organic in my gardens! Those require a lot of pest knowledge to study and pass. Plus a college course in pest. Hands on in gardens since born is helpful too. Both of my parents are horticulturist. I was raised on a small sustainable homestead. My mother has created a permaculture Paradise in our old backyard.
I am a Georgia certified landscape professional which is a rigorous test procedure but it is half on plant ID. I have worked with the state botanist cataloging native plants in a nearby state park.
I am being long winded, sorry! Insomnia makes me chatty! Lol!
I would love to help with any ID's. I certainly don't know everything but I can key out anything usually.

I took it last year! :) I took the intro also last year and tried this year but just couldn't do it. Too much happening and not enough motivation or attention span. I'm glad they made it into an ebook! I would have loved and rather taken the full course again but $800 is just too much. I guess they're going to start the second course up again, doubt I'll be able to take it, just too expensive. That and I don't want to do it for a job or anything.

I'd love to take more farming classes but they'd all have to be online or local. Most everything is held on the other side of the Cascades because that's where OSU is. Silly cause there's A LOT of farmers and stuff out here too!

Wow! You are an ultimate wealth of knowledge then! Real neat your life and how you turned out keeping with it, that's great!

I did not grow up with anything farm like, just a little gardening here and there! My first real garden was in 2015 after we got back from being stationed in Germany. Last year's garden was a bust for everyone in Central Oregon and this year is a bust for me due to ground squirrels (little shits I tell ya - we're gonna go with raised beds next year I guess).

I don't imind chatting! I'll send a pic of the wasp guy.

Nice talking withyou!

Here's the guy!!
wasp

A bunch hung out on the currant bush before the blackbirds had their nest in there.

I believe it is in the pompilid wasp family. So it eats spiders mostly and is what I consider a beneficial insect. I can't find an exact match for this coloration though...

That's what my issue was also! There's lots here, may just have to send it off to Ask an Expert!!

Observation is everything. Looking, learning and squashing the nasty bugs between your fingers is the way to go 😊

I agree with the natural way but I also agree with NEEM oil.................. ;)

Uh yes! Love that stuff too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69