You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collard Flowers: how to get an extra collard crop! - 9 original photos - ColorChallenge - Wednesday's Yellow

in #gardening7 years ago

So that's what it is called in English! Here is Portugal it is called Couve Galega. It grows to enormous size! Last summer I took a shot of one that was taller than me (I am regular height ;) )
And since there is no harsh winters here, you have the leaves all year round and it is used in soooo many typical Portugese dishes.

I sent some seeds to Norman and he tried to grow them too :)

Sort:  

I remember we tried to figure out the difference in these plants, over on Tsu. The collards have yellow flowers and your Couve Galega has white flowers, I'm pretty sure. I grew it as "Portuguese Kale". It's leaves are a lot bigger than the collards. I need to make a post about those plants - they are amazing! @liliana.duarte made a post showing how she makes a traditional soup with it: Calo Verde.

When is Norman going to get here onto Steemit? I hope you can convince him!

Yea, the flowers are white. I couldn't tell from the photo is they are bigger or not. I know it grows huge!

I dunno. Soon hopefully :)

When I have grown them, the Portuguese Kale has much bigger leaves, but doesn't grow as tall. The Collards can get really tall, but their leaves are not as thick or as large. Your Couve Galega has such huge leaves!

I heard that somewhere in the North of Portugal they grow few meters tall. Never saw then. The tallest I saw could be 1,8 m.
The leaves are very big... two or three and you have a soup ready :D

Wow! That's tall! The ones I grew, the leaves were so big! But the rib in the middle of the leaf was still tender and mild-tasting. So good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57