Dealing With Weed

in #gardening5 years ago

Today was a gardening day for me and I'd like to share with you what I did.

Weed is growing everywhere because that's how nature works. I saw some people leave the weed as it is. I can't. I had to clean the garden today as the weed would have killed the currants.

When it comes to eliminate weed, you have a few options:

  • use herbicide,
  • cut it with a scythe,
  • use a hoe,
  • pull it out.

Herbicide is a big NO from the start. I refuse to use herbicide, I prefer as organic as possible.

Scythe and hoe is out of question both as I've never used any of them.

So it remains the last option, to pull it out. I know it can be a lot of hard work but I was lucky, the soil was wet and wasn't too much so I was done in two hours.

Pulling out weed is a win win situation not only for the calories burned (yes, I'm going to do an actifit post 🙂) but because of the weed can be composted.

Composting is very important and I think everyone should take it into consideration.

IMG_20190529_101920.jpg

We have this composting bin which is filled hundreds of times over one year with all the organic green we have.

IMG_20190529_101830.jpg

Today I put three buckets of weed into the bin and another three buckets in another place because the bin was full and there are two piles waiting to be cleaned up. Tomorrow hopefully I can put another bucket of weed into the bin as it shrinks.

Compost is the best natural fertilizer you can get. We use it in spring mixed with soil for seeds.

It would be great to have a separate bin for organic waste at home but we're very far from that, my city needs another hundred years for something to happen. The European Union has a target till 2050 and I already know my country is going to be sanctioned.

Anyway, this is my gardening report for today. If you have a garden and not doing composting yet, you should consider it.

Sort:  

Your weeds look so healthy. The compost from them will be wonderful.

I have just, was going to say finished, but it's not quite finished yet, setting up a huge compost area ~ Surrounding it with wire mesh ~ To keep the brush turkeys out. But thinking I'll have to get some designated compost bins like yours as well @erikah. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you @allyinspirit. The weed looks healthy because it's raining a lot here and these are growing like crazy. You're right, it's great for compost and I'm trying to diversify what I'm adding to the compost and each plant has different things that makes the compost better.
These bins are great, I would recommend to buy one. We got it for free from the village administration.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you

I have a constant battle with my patio and weeds. The key is get them root and stem . You may need to leave them grow before you can get a go grip of them

I agree with you on that. It's the best solution so far.

You got a 6.71% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you for your support.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14000 replies. Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for notifying me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42