🌿It's time to dig potatoes🌿

in #gardening7 years ago

The best fruits are picked in your own garden and the best vegetables are grown by your own hands.

image

Traditionally, the end of August and the beginning of September is the potato harvesting period for farmers and gardeners.
Our family has a small plot of land out of the city, where we grow different vegetables for own needs, and potatoes are the main of them. Few months of field work, fighting Colorado beetle and finally our potatoes looks like this
image

It's time to dig and search for a hidden treasures, as my kid says.

image

In the last few days my spare time was dedicated to the harvesting process.

image

image

We do not use agricultural machines because our plot is located on the slope with a big angle and the tractor can easily turn over. Only a man with a shovel can work here.

image

image

Unlike previous few years, this year weather conditions were favorable for potatoes. And here is the result.

image

image

It remains only to thank God for the harvest and hide it in the basement.

Thank you for your time! I wish a perfect harvest to every farmer and gardener as the reward for their hard work.

As always, only original pictures, made with using my phone camera.

Sort:  

That are some nice and huge potatoes! :P

Yeah, this year we have lot of them. No need to visit farmers market. 😉

Will you be selling some?

No, it is only for own needs. Part of them will be used for seed, another part - for eating till the next harvest.

Hey erika I don't know how else I can contact you so here I go. I saw that you resteemed a video about how cheap it is in ukraine. Can you please check for me prices of some cars there? Maybe I will make a visit too. :)

Thank you.

I can check, no problem. But I don't think that goods produced in another country (like Germany, England or France) and transported to Ukraine with the payment of customs duties and other taxes will be cheaper than in the country of their origin.
Please note that in the video man was talking about goods, produced or grown in Ukraine...
Btw, I am on Discord. You can find me as Tat'yana (my real name)

Hey erika,

I actually need your 4 digit number on discord to add you as a friend. :) On what discords are you mostly hangout?

Thanks!

Nice crop!! I picked all mine back in July. Here's my post on potatoes if you're interested.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@garden-to-eat/growing-potatoes

That's a really nice potato harvest!
I haven't started digging my potatoes yet, they haven't died back yet.

Time and patience. And maybe your harvest will be even better than my 🙂 Have a good day!

Yeah, you never know what you're going to get until you start digging.

I love potatoes, and remember my father in laws farm in Russia where he raised a lot of potatoes, his full time job. now following you and have upvoted you as well

Thanks! I think it's great when you can be closer to the nature and grow something by your hands.
But for me gardening is more like a hobby for weekends. Being a farmer and do this work every day is a hard job, respect to your father.

He died about 6 years ago, but he loved what he did and had many workers doing most of the work

Oh, I'm sorry about this :-(
But it is good to hear that he left you a pleasant memories about him. Our native people continue to live in our hearts.

Wished my potatoes looked that good.

Good harvest depends on the weather conditions and your labour and carry. If this year was bad and your plants had not all they needed, maybe next one will be better. Don't give up!

Хороший картофанчик, у нас в этом году не очень, но главное тоже своя)

Может в следующем году будет лучше:-)
Мы тоже пару лет почти без урожая были, на еду шла та, которая обычно в посадку кидается. Теперь наконец-то урожай порадовал🙂

Wow, nice yield! I can only grow things on my condo balcony but I'm proud that I got a lot of cherry tomatoes this year. :)

Great! You know, when you don't have a plot of land, growing plants on the balcony is also good idea. Not only tomatoes but cucumbers, small chili pepper, salad can be grown on balcony too. It can be an interesting hobby.

that is an INCREDIBLE harvest of potatoes!
I have six plants (Yukon Gold) planted this year and am anxiously awaiting to get them up.

I wish you good harvest! And thanks for your comment. 🙂

Отличный урожай)

Да, мне тоже понравился, в этом году хоть крупная есть. А в прошлом была только мелкая и посадочная. Копали только чтобы площадь зачистить.

раз на раз... от дождей наверное зависит)

Great post, a lot of potatoes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52