Violets Are Blue, Raspberries Are Yellow

in #gardening6 years ago

Yep, you' ve read it right. Yellow Raspberries do exist.

a.jpg

I've got a few in my veggie garden and one baby plant in my backyard. Thanks to the mother plant for letting her offspring crawl into our patch. The neighbor wanted to trim them and pull the strayed shoots off the ground but we asked him to let them crawl where ever they choose to and agreed that we may have the ones that crawled into our patch. Who'd mind getting any free plant ... more so, a fruiting one. The mother plant shoots plenty of its young so this year, we've got three times more than what we had last year.

b.jpg

Like the raspberry you are familiar with, their flowers look like so. Yes, these are organic and a hybrid so don't worry, it's not a Frankenstein raspberry.

The fruits are just yellow and tastes a bit like a not so sweet pineapple but still sweet.. if you get what I mean.

Those were the last harvest in autumn last year, I was sharing them with the honeybees. They love those, too, not just the flowers but the fruits as well.

c.jpg

At first, I thought the wasps were the culprit, chewing on a few of the fruits till I found a few sharing the same open fruit. I don't mind really, in the autumn it gets very wet here and last year, I could barely pick them on time I get there and find a few with mildew so I'd rather the honeybees and even the wasps eat them than the mildew.

You're aware that honeybees love a nectar bar right? The wasps would just bite on another fruit and not share any - like they do to the plums. I could be wrong about the wasps though, I've never really observed them as close as I did the honeybees just because ~~.

Unfortunately, I didn't have my phone with me back the afternoon I saw them doing that and I didn't get a chance to get back there during their eating time. This year, am looking forward for a "honeybee yellow raspberry bar session".

For now, just so you have an idea, this is what a "honeybee nectar bar" looks like. Those two pics below are a two year old pic by the way.

d2.jpg

d1.jpg

Anyway, as for the yellow raspberries, every now and then, a lady bug, honey bee and some unidentified bug would kiss their flowers.

Of course, I have the usual raspberries, too. I got both the ones that fruit in summer and the ones that still fruit in autumn. The yellow raspberries bears fruit till the late autumn, too by the way.

c1.jpg

Right now, both the yellow and the red raspberries are still green and not ready for the picking but if the weather continues to be as how it was today, a few of them would be ready for breakfast and I just can't wait for the harvest time!

d.jpg

How about you, have you ever eaten a yellow raspberry? Do they have them where you are, too?

[This content's 100% mine . I took the pics with my smartphones



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

When I have seen yellow raspberries first time I thought they are not matured yet and by the way we have found them in backyard between our hedge bushes. I did not think that it is a raspberry at all but them because they are so similar from plant point of view and berries, i just carefully tasted one and it was really nice and sweet. I find the red raspberries are a bit more sour and juicy, I love them more, but may be because I knew them from my childhood. I hope you will have a good harvest.

The honeybee nectar bar look really fun, a good capture of amazing moment :)

wow, you're very lucky !

I have only tasted this last year, my neighbor has many sort

mostly the normal ones and all sorts of hybrid
am waiting for the elongated ones to send its shoots to our side, too

thank you
it's very easy to photography honeybees when they're eating
if you have a flowering passion plant they would pay your garden a daily visit
they're up there all day long ^ ^
this year, we had to cut the passion flower down because the greenhouse had to sit on where it is, I thought I will have to grow another one from seeds but it just sent new shoots though I will have to miss the honeybees this time :)

I know yellow raspberry. But it is not very popular in our family. Maybe because it tastes less sweet. We prefer traditional varieties of red raspberries. We have several bushes growing. But before the harvest is still of course very far.

it must be cooler where you are
I already got two ripe ones from the traditional ones the last time we've been in our garden
if the weather here continues to go on 25 to 30 degrees with rain in the evening, they'd ripen faster
as if they were in a race with our strawberries he he

excellent post as you have us accustomed dear friend @ englishtchrivy, I never had the opportunity to know the yellow raspberries, I do not want to be wrong, but I think that in Argentina it does not exist, I was digging a little on the web and I saw that in free market they sell seeds for plant them, now I want to try them, I'll see if I can buy the seeds.
Happy to know something new aber, thank you very much for sharing.
I wish you a wonderful week

thank you
it's good to see you here again

i have never eaten a yellow raspberry. i have never actually seen a yellow raspberry either. or a white elephant :D
btw, i love your picture of the passion flower;

don't worry
soon enough they'll get there, too :)
last year they were nowhere to be found in plant stores here
this year, the same month I bought the calamunding
they were there
so sooner they'll be selling in Greece, too

we'll see :D fingers crossed.

never tried yellow raspberries, I really like the picture of two honeybees, you have a good camera for sure

thank you
it was taken with a phone

gardening is my favourite hobby, i work in there everyday and it's nice to know that you also work here..

Glad for the free breakfast soon but I never know there yellow ones. Would like to try the ananas taste.

now you do :)
have a great breakfast
morning good in Singa!

You got a 3.83% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @englishtchrivy!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Cool, never saw this before. Do they taste the same?

can you smoke this lol
nee grapje besjes roken is nooit goed

I wouldn't try hahaha ^ ^

@markush

no, I can only compare this one's taste to a less sweet pineapple
ze verkopen de boom bij in...tuin :)

What a beautiful garden i never saw these things before it thanks for sharing such good photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94