You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Edible Allium Cepa

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

@bleujay thank you for giving out its common name. You are right they are indeed shallots .

Ah.. you do garden - the shallots I know in the Philippines also don't flower but to be exact this is an Allium Cepa var. Aggregatum also known as Allium Cepa var. Ascalonicum

EDIT: I don't have the ornamental alliums in my garden I would love to have a Globemaster but unfortunately I don't maybe I should get they will surely flower every year . As for the purple sensation I haven't seen one or maybe did but didn't know that it's called that.

There are many Allium Cepa varieties - I didn't think of the ornamental alliums to be confused with it when I wrote this am glad you asked :).

I only thought of the edible Allium Cepas and there's a lot of them and they also have different flowers. I want the one with the bulbs on top I think they call that a tree onion. These ones are in my small moestuin in the volkstuin - as they call it. We also had Allium fistulosum var. bulbifera a white one with white pollen holders in the back yard last year - it also bolted but I wasn't in Steemit when it bolted. That one is a hybrid of Allium Cepa and Allium Fistolusom they call it "sint-jansui ui" in Dutch

Yes, vase indeed @bleujay thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58