Hacienda Cucin - an old Farm House and a Monastery - beautiful rambling gardens.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening8 years ago

A walk through a rural garden

img

Hacienda Cusin is a restored grand old Farm House (Hacienda) attached to a monastery not far from Otovalo in the mid-north of Ecuador.

img

Ecuador used to be part of Gran Colombia, a realm with a chequered history, dominated by the Spanish and then glamorised by the likes of Simon Bolivar, the Venezuelan who fought for independence so passionately against the Spanish 200 years ago. The stories, it must be said, have been glamorised to some extent.

img

Jutting out into the Pacific Ocean this Latino country was the first to be dubbed "Banana Republic" - Cusin was one of many farms to have encompassed huge tracts of country. Land reforms saw these holdings portioned off. Very few sizeable properties remain in family hands. As with so much of the world, three corporates account for about 80% of the country's produce.

Haciendas punctuate the whole country, only to tell of a bygone era.

Hacienda Cusin, now finely resored still retains its kitchen gardens.

img

The resident Llama

Now a peaceful hotel, the kitchens are well served by a vegetable garden set within the old formal gardens of the family home.

img

img

img

img

I still am yet to discover the name of this plant!

img

img

img

Main entrance to the Monastery

img

View north to the Otovalo hills

img

img

img

I hope you enjoyed a stroll around this Ecuadorian garden.


Witnesses on steemit are your assurance of confidence in the system.

When you vote for witnesses, think about someone less obvious:

Listed at No. 50 is @timcliff.

@timcliff is a really good steemmate of mine, a very trustworthy and dependable guy who thinks for himself and for you. He is a seasoned developer who is always looking for better ways of doing things but is not one to gloss over obstacles – he solves them.

So, go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses - you need your authorisation password

And be sure to include No. 50 @timcliff

Meantime follow @ebryans

Follow Me for Content:

img

Sort:  

O my beautiful I must say what stunning photos

How kind you are! They are all mine so your comment is doubly appreciated!

It does look stunning .. I love my garden but im very jealous lol it looks bliss

It is now owned by a very English Englishman who is a good friend. His wife, whom I barely know, sadly, is on the Board of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York and so their visits are less frequent than I would like! Thank you again for your kind words. I shall follow you and look forward to seeing your arrays of colour! I tend to be the constructor of pergolas (my favourite) and landscaper!

Thank you, how kind of you to comment - I am pleased to be able to say that they are all mine! Very thoughtful of you to stop and comment! It sounds like you are a travel fan so I am following your exploits!

Omg ! That's so beautiful ! Do you live there ? I know that plant . It reproduces those flowers really fast . I got those in my house in Bali as well

Do I live there? I wish ... actually I really do wish ... It is one of two houses I really covet here - should I admit that? Here is the other - where Guayasamin lived. He was the most famous artist Ecuador ever had - but a pig of a man. It really is a beautiful house and that terrace - very perfect for quaffing rosé on a sunny afternoon!

img

img

Where in Bali? I know the south east corner a little, having been there a few times from Australia. My cousin has a house in Sanur. My steemit introducer lives up in Ubud!

It was more like a funny question, feeling your wish, wanting to live there.
Oh well, Bali is a long story because I pretty much lost everything but yes I did live in Sanur Jalan Blanjong close to the beach for many years , then I moved to my then Balinese family house in Suwung, also close to Sanur. 10 years Seminiyak was more than enough. Actually 16 years Bali is too much. Haha! I never clicked with the expat community in Ubud. This island holds some interesting but also very wacky people.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.60 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45