Starting a vegetable garden..

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1703.PNG

We built this a little earlier this summer in order to save money at the grocery store and get more nutrients out of our vegetables... much better for us and the four-legged omnivores under our roof 😊. I can't believe how quickly everything has grown. Who knew squash and zucchini could get so big so fast!

We've planted tomatoes, mint, and lettuce as well. It's been a fun experience so far and with vegetables growing in abundance, there's more than enough to go around for friends and family.

Sort:  

What a lovely garden =). Self sufficiency (even in small doses like that) really impresses me. I'd love to have something like that (and a solar roof lol) one day.

Thank you!! Definitely!! It never hurts to be prepared incase of an apocalypse. ;)

I'm glad others have a green thumb too. I used to run a hydroponic system for my peppers. Mint sounds like a unique challenge.

That sounds interesting! I'd love to see the set up. Mint wasn't too bad to grow at all. It seems like a very hardy plant. We use it for quite a few things. It soothes stomach inflammation, eases nausea, and when applied topically, it can help get rid of headaches and congestion. I'm all about some natural home remedies! 😊

I have the old setup somewhere. I haven't used it since last spring, tropical depression kicked off all my baby peppers 😓.

Nice post. Always good to see someone taking the initiative to feed themselves. I wish you all the best with your garden and ongoing success on steemit. It's a great platform. I'll go check out some more of your posts too. :) @galenkp

I appreciate that! Thank you! I agree. There's nothing better than being self-sufficient. I wish you success as well and I'll definitely check out your posts!

Yep, I agree. I wrote a post a few days ago about being a kid growing up in a household were we had vegetable gardens and chickens etc. For me I look back at those times fondly. Kids these days don't get to do that stuff. They're too busy playing Warcraft on their iphones. :) Cheers, have a good day this Friday. Mine's just coming to an end so...Hello weekend! :) @galenkp

That's a gorgeous plantation in a wonderful little planter box! I'm guessing you built that as well?

We did build it. The wood is sold at Home Depot. It was actually originally a desert tortoise enclosure, but she outgrew it. I'm glad we found another use for it. 😊

Okay first of all that's cool that you made the planter box... But secondly can I please see this desert tortoise :D

That's so cool! Looking so stoic hahah thanks for sharing.

Getting healthier from eating groceries, Saving money and Having fun of growing them ? It's amazing thing to do.

Looks amazing!

I'm determined to transform our yard into an urban garden (documenting on steem) -> seeing success like this is really encouraging.

Also - I really like the stones you placed ;)

I definitely recommend it. We may expand this one more. I didn't realize squash was such a large plane. It just keeps growing and growing. 😅

Very nice little garden you have there! I used to grow zucchini in a small spot such as yours and wow did they come out good. I would prep the soil with the local cow manure and watered the plants with the stream water. We would bread them and fry them up.....so delicious!

That sounds delicious!! I love fried zucchini!

Guaranteed that will be the BEST FOOD you ever eat! :)

That's a very beautiful garden very organized mine is crazy looking! But gives good bounty🌷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12