Planning out the Dream Garden [Gardening]

in #gardening7 years ago

20180107_222126.jpg

Let's plan a dream garden for the coming year.

All of my veggies will be grown from seed. Many of them will be transplanted. By planning ahead where they will go, I can also direct sow seeds for other veggies into appropriate areas, and leave some open space for the transplants to be planted.

We have an upper back yard where I grow two planters by the lawn.

These are the plants I think will grow well in the space this year.

#sunflower
#brusselssprouts
#peas
#cherrytomatoes
#peppers
#lettuce
#clover
#anise
#blackcumin
#cilantro
#parsley

20180107_222144.jpg

Along the fence I had some success growing corn and beans last year. This year I am going to try growing them on separate sides instead of in between each other. Denser corn stalks should help with the pollination of the silk. In the spot where I grew radishes last year, I will grow cabbage instead.

#corn
#beans
#chives
#grapes
#cabbage

20180107_222206.jpg

Beside the lower section of the yard, I have another planter. Here I will grow larger tomatoes. Also there will be a tobacco plant. Very curious to see if it helps control the aphid population. In front of a hedge is a shade area beside the planter. This might be an ideal place to grow herbs and root vegetables.

#sunflower
#tomatoes
#peas
#tobacco
#brusseslssprouts
#arugula
#cilantro
#blackcumin
#parsley
#carrots
#turnips
#radish
#anise

20180107_222223.jpg

The front yard is a challenge because of the tree growing there beside the juniper bush. Its roots tend to discourage growth of other things. With extra compost this year, I hope to remedy that. Also I'm rotating the crops, so pumpkin will be growing in the spot where I grew the carrots last season. My hope is that last season's old carrots I left in this patch will open new pathways for new pumpkin transplants to spread roots deeper into the soil.

#pumpkin
#strawberries
#lavender
#apple
#gooseberry
#carrots
#lettuce
#radish
#turnip


Bonus Photo:

Here is a fancy dish my sister made for the family last weekend. Chicken, Artichoke, Capers, Onion, Basil, Tomato, Pasta, Spinach, and Parmesan Cheese.

20180106_162430.jpg

Finally, a dish that livens up the taste buds to soften the taste and texture of spinach. I ate it all up.

Sort:  

@creativetruth such nice post you are going to make it the step step work always pays of well although at the end of the year keep share your garden i will be glad .

I appreciate your gardening planning...Continue this idea and create your garden. ...best of luck..

It will be appreciated to have a garden with all things you have mentioned and It will really help your kitchen to have fresh things from your garden and it also gives an awesome look to your home.which represents your personality and family. It is also a very healthy activity to keep you fit and healthy and fresh.

I love that you are growing many spices!! How has your experience been with growing black cumin? I would love to grow cumin as it is my favorite spice, but I know nothing about it... yet!

The first year I had one black cumin plant growing great. It made a big flower and a ton of seeds. The flower and seed pod is very interesting looking if you google it. The second year I grew black cumin, it was weak and died off almost immediately. I am going to try keeping my herbs indoors longer this year until they look very strong. My sister told me cilantro and other herbs often do better in partial shade, which surprised me because I thought they grow it in Mexico under the blistering sun. So I am planning to grow many of my herbs closer to areas of the yard where they can get cool shade half of the day.

Nice! Thanks for sharing your experience. I found out recently cilantro actually likes cool weather like fall and winter depending on your climate. They grow more leaves. Although summer is great for producing the seeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45