Identify This Plant [Gardening]

in #gardening7 years ago

20180309_173523.jpg

Does anybody know what this plant is?

Found this weed growing in our lawn. Noticed it has some very small flowers. Slightly unusual. Perfect for my steemit friends to enjoy.

Key Characteristics:

  • fuzzy coat of leaf hairs
  • smells/tastes like the muddy clay soil it grows in
  • deep crimson stems, and leaf blush
  • small, low growing vine stems

20180309_173540.jpg

My instinct says it is mint, but it sure doesn't smell or taste like any mint I've grown, because this would taste terrible in tea.

Tell me in the comments if you recognize this plant or know any interesting tidbits.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Your Friend Zebra is supporting you and rewarding you by sending back 70% of your upvote value!
So make sure you follow Zebra and keep upvoting the posts!

https://steemit.com/busy/@zebraprint/supporting-you-by-sending-70-of-your-upvote-back-event-1

This is dead nettle- an edible wayside weed with a sweet demeanor. Grows near chickweed, henbit & wild onions. Can be eaten raw in salads :)

Here’s a great link to know more :)

Thank you! Glad somebody knowledgeable knew what it was.

Super nutritional, and a favorite for bees. I'm definitely not going to pick any more while it is flowering.

Fascinating. there are so very many different species on earth!

This plant is dead nettle plant but commonly its is also called Blind nettle,
It is very inmportant in medical field Alot of medicines are formed by this plant parts other that medicine it is also used as food in raw materia like salad and also its leaves are cooked for eat I think its flowers are not only white because i studied about this plant but flowers are in different colors so if you have more information about this plant then inform me @creativetruth
Thanks for introducing new and new plants in this community alot of plants in my garden that are unknown for me so i well dropp picture of these in comment in next post because you have great knowledge oabout gardning keep sharing

Thanks for the info. I keep learning more.

Posting on steemit, and I can find out a lot quicker than emailing the county extension office if I ate something poisonous or not. :)

Greetings very good post I follow and vote

Honest friend of this plant I have ever found in my yard tapih I forgot her name and this plant is rarely we find and this nice plant @creativetruth

It looks like it could either be strawberry mint which to me has wierd fruity smell unlike other mints,, or its dead nettle which has a bitter smell. they look alot alike so hard to tell. i have followed you as we seem to share a gardening passion, stop by my blog and see if theres anything you like :)

I will definitely. Thanks.

I do grow strawberry mint. One of my favorites scents.

You are right. Found out, with some help here in the comments, it is dead nettle.

well it has a heap of medical benefits including being good to rub in a open wound as its a astringent and antibacterial.

You were smart to think it was related to mint. Those leaves have a minty texture for sure.

Dead nettle is a perennially growing flowering herb belonging to the Lamiaceae family. The stems of this herb may grow up to a height of 2 feet. The leaves of the plant are oval, jagged, have long stalks and are arranged in pairs opposite to each other. The leaves have a triangular smoothed base and grow up to 3 cm to 8 cm in length and are 2 cm to 5 cm in width. In addition, dead nettle leaves are softly bristled having an indented border and a petiole that is approximately 5 cm in length

That's right. Thanks for the detailed definition of how to identify it.

The leaves certainly have the mint leaf look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85