Taming the tomato jungle

in #gardening7 years ago

It's been about a week since I haven't touched the tomato plants in the greenhouse, well except for grabbing some fruit for salads, and they've gone feral.

They've overgrown their support lines and were hitting the ceiling.
20170823_162429.jpg

Of course, loads of new suckers as well that had to be removed.
20170823_161419.jpg

This is a plant that I treated a bit too roughly a few weeks ago and I snapped it's main growing stem by accident. I've done that after removing all side shoots so I couldn't just use one of them to keep the plant growing. It had loads of fruit on it so I planned to leave until all of them are ripe. Today I saw there were tens of new shoots coming up from where I snapped it.
20170823_161828.jpg

I've removed pretty much all of them, kept one and will see if the plant will keep growing. I know I won't get any new fruit formed and ripened this season but I just want to see if the plant will be strong enough to keep going.
20170823_161943.jpg

The plants have been lowered and cleaned up and they're looking orderly again now.
20170823_193521.jpg

Got a lovely crop of toms today, half were used in the dinner this evening and the other half went into the dehydrator. I will completely dry this batch and grind it up.
20170823_172255.jpg

Got my first Jersey Devil tomato today; I like the look of these ones and they're pretty tasty.
20170823_172322.jpg

That's it for now.

Thanks for looking at my toms guys!

Sort:  

Good harvest! It's tough keeping a healthy tomato plant under control once it gets going. I top mine every week.

Thank you!
Yeah, I get in the middle of them at least once a week as well. It's a bit difficult since my approach to designing the system was along the lines of put everything in, see how it works after and now I don't have an easy way in. I have to literally crawl under the buckets to get between the rows. But I guess you gotta start somewhere, now I know what I need to change for my second season.

Everything stretches towards the sun!

Indeed they do!

Wonderful post indeed @costopher ...Blessings

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Costopher from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81