A Indoor Gardeners Wet Dream - I Have used them many times - Life is Good

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)
  • My first purchase of an Omega Garden was a dream come true. The Inventor is a hero of mine.

I was living on Vancouver Island when I first heard of these. So I borrowed a truck and got on Ferry to Vancouver to see them in person and Make a purchase. Remember this was decades ago and the company was just getting started.
I can't find any pictures of my model, they have come a long way over the years.
This is a newer model From this site
2 gardens.jpg

  • I was there at the beginning of this wonderful concept. And a talk with a steemster this morning got me thinking about times gone by.

My model was molded PVC that 3" pots fit in for a total of 350 plants per barrel. Later models had stainless trays that were easy to detach for plant maintenance and held 2-3 " grow cubes only ( many more ).

  • I'l state right now than I'm not affiliated with Omega garden in any way,

Nor have I used the product for years ( I live in the Tropics now and don't need artificial sunlight. But only decided this would be an informative blog for some of my followers.
*Here is there official website
And a Youtube video Of the creator himself

  • Ted is a true visionary and every time I went to purchase 1 spent most of the day talking to him.

The model behind Ted is my favorite design, and not hard to build yourself if you so inclined.
But I would suggest purchasing at least 1 to support the creator.

  • I'm kind of off what I had intended for my day. Got some farm work to do and I want to do a blog later about the plants in my yard.

So if this blog tweeked your interest, follow through @ (http://omegagarden.com
Or do a search and find days worth of reading from users of the product and let your imagination run wild :-)

  • As always, Please reply to this post to discuss anything. That's my favorite part of steemit.com

Meeting interesting people thrills me

My Signature Post ---> Hop on My Love Train ( with music )

Life is Good @ steemit.com

Sort:  

Nice... But I can't tell- are these edible vegetables or smokable ones???

Ted is only interested in food for everyone, But yes if you put tiny clippings in every spot and go 12 Hr cycles, the whole barrel is chock a block full of only Bud in a Month ( So I've heard ) LOL

Sounds better than what I "heard" I was growing my veggies under lights and it was taking 8 weeks. They just legalized meds where I live... Jan we get the cards!

Distance to the light source is of utmost concern, That's why this system is so ideal. I swapped out 1000 - 1500 watt lights for this system with 2X600 watt lights and got far better coverage. Nothing goes to waste, and electricity is expencive.

I put mine on a pulley system so I could raise and lower them. When I was in college, my buddies had their whole basement full of skunk plants... You could smell it from 20 feet away... I don't know how the guy reading the meters or the mail man didn't smell it!!!

Even back in the day...Filters were easy to make. The light tube had to be vented, so its passed through a filter to the great outdoors, or you home if you live in a cold climate, why wast all thet generated heat :-)
Cheers

I used fluorescent hoods on pulleys that I could keep an inch or two above the plants. They got the light without unnecessary heat. Back then the cops did flyovers looking for infrared heat signatures... you had to be clever!

I had never heard of omega garden before - thanks for posting.

Well worth the purchase, If only to tinker with. Food is not cheap :-)

My fingers are always 3 steps ahead of my brain. Can I change this to 100% SP now?
I can't see a way to do it.
Boo Me...LOL

Thanks for the info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64