Violas: Winter Season Blooming Beauties For Your Garden

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Violas with their adorable faces always make a bold and colourful statement in your winter garden.

20170711_103441 (2).jpg

I love seeing these colourful faces in gardens and nurseries as they make me feel happy and energetic. I shop at different nurseries to find unique combinations to plant in my garden and each year I discover a bigger variety than the year before. For me, they are a must in the winter garden to bring in some colour and happiness.

Violas are versatile plants and tolerant of extreme weather conditions. There are native to Eastern and Western Europe and there are over 550 species. They reach a height of about 15cm with five petal flowers and heart shaped leaves.

The violas come in many shades and combinations of colours: yellow, orange, blue, maroon, purple, mauve, lavender, pink, red, white and back. The perfect plant for garden edges, hanging baskets and pots.

They bloom in winter, are annual plants but self-seed all over your garden so you can enjoy them for years. You can germinate the seeds indoors for 4-6 weeks before planting them out. They take about 12 weeks to bloom.

Violas enjoy full sun and thrive in rich and moist soil. Water them when dry only. Plant them in mid fall as they can survive freezing temperatures. You need to deadheading them quite frequently to enjoy their prolific blooming.


Image Credit

Happy Gardening!!

Sort:  

Good! Beauty! Such a variety of colors

Thank you very much dolov. I fell in love with the many combinations of colour.

A great flower for a beginner like me. I planted some this year and they thrived even with my limited experience and tiny garden.

I experienced the same as I do not have green fingers at all. Thank you answerblack.

Beautiful flower and nice post :)
Do you know the bleeding heart flower? I posted about it, check it :)
https://steemit.com/nature/@mirayur/bleeding-heart-flower-or-or-epic-flower-d

Thank you mirayur. Oh wow, those bleeding hearts of yours are exquisite.

Yeah, and yet we still know nothing about this nature :D

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

Thank you for your support dollface.

Beautiful flowers!

Violas with their adorable faces always make a bold and colourful statement in your winter garden.

They're in a vast variety of colors which will surely make people stop and admire them. Honestly, I sat still, transfixed, when I looked at these pictures.

Best images that I found anywhere on the internet in a long time. Thanks!

Which camera did you use, if I may ask?

Thank you maxabit. They are truly colourful and create such a beautiful, energetic and happy picture. A normal Samsung A4.

wow @cherryblossom-sa what a beautiful flowers in a very nice garden really looks cool.

Thank you adnanrabbani. They do create a beautiful picture in your garden.

Great shots @cherryblossom-sa! I love flower gardens. Nature is so beautiful.

Thank you amarie. They truly do lift the spirit and help tp relax.

Really beautiful flowers. I like, upvote and follow

Thank you very much midou, I appreciate your support.

Those flowers are wonderful! I want to give my mother a gift of this flower!

Thank you amedeo. Your mom would love it.

For sure.

This is an immersive experience. Lost in the beauty of nature. Thanks for sharing.
A small gift in return-- think about if you were color blind, how will yoi see the world? Will you still take these pictures or live sober all through life? Check out what i find out on "Life of a Color Blind"
https://steemit.com/health/@stevenomole/curious-mind-the-life-of-a-color-blind-person-test-included-facebook-is-mostly-blue-because-mark-zuckerberg-is-green-red-color

Thank you for sharing this post with me. It is truly thought provoking. I had an English teacher which was colour blind and could only see blue, we knew on the days her husband did not dress her because nothing would match.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44