Learning to be more Self Sufficient - Part 3

in #gardening6 years ago

Well it has been a long, cold, winter! Spring is here, but it's still a bit cold out. Over the winter, I was worried about my new rhubarb plant and the new hydrangea I planted, so I covered them in Straw to keep them from freezing hard. It worked great! I just went out to check on them and they are sprouting and looking great. I also went to each fruit tree in early March and plugged the ground with a fertilizer stake. You can buy these at Home Depot. I even did this to my blue berries. It will give them a nice jump start.

The chickens faired very well over the winter. We keep them nice and warm every night and keep their henhouse draft free with a heat lamp too. They laid all winter for us. The garden is still covered with a heavy tarp, but, it will be removed in a couple of weeks and I will plant my early crops like Brocolli, Cauliflower and Peas. I may even start my onions. And, of course, I will throw some potatoes in the raised bed.

This year, I didn't cut back my lavender bushes.... (cause last year I cut them so far back I killed them! Yikes! so I had to replant them. ) They did very well all winter, and only a few branches look dead, so I will trim those off. I also fertilized them to give them a good start also. I was pretty pleased they are looking so good! I may have enough Lavender to harvest and sell this year, in addition to using it in my soap making!

The house paint is looking worse for wear, so we have decided to paint the house this year. We received 3 bids and chose a contractor. I personally, am very excited about that! New color, so fresh! This time we will use a lifetime paint from Sherwin Williams.

My canning done up last summer lasted us very well this past winter and we ate like Kings! I may do more Tomato Sauce and green beans this year. We almost ran out! I would also like to can some fruit for pie making. Apples and peaches.

So, now is the time to build that raised bed, and get ready to grab your early vegies. Lettuce gardens do really well in Spring. You can even pamper some tomato and pepper plants indoors to get ready for May planting. So get your garden planned out asap.

I look forward to hearing all about what you plant in your gardens. And how your wintered over plants did this past winter.

Take care,

Cat151.jpg800.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @catmiller! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @catmiller! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey @catmiller, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36