How to Grow a Large Collection of Succulents for Free!

in #gardening7 years ago

titlecard.png

Succulents are pretty amazing plants, and they’re a great start if you’re not 100% sure about spending money on plants. You can quickly build a large collection of succulents, as long as you aren’t too shy and have a bit of patience. Your success rate will vary, but I’ve averaged about 75% success.




Choosing your Mark

Step 1 for growing your amazing collection of free plants is to go around your neighbourhood and search out gardens with succulents that you think are cool. This might be a bit trickier in colder climates, but I’ve found that a lot of people in Sydney grow succulents in their front yards.

Succulents are recognisable by their fleshy thick leaves, where they store water. I haven’t tried this method with cacti, so proceed at your own risk. (And remember to take gloves because those needles are sharp!)

Some good options for beginners to try are:

Echeveria

echeveria.png

Sedum

sedum.png

Graptoveria

graptoveria.png

Jade Plant

jade1.png

Easter/Christmas Cactus

eastercactus.png




The Heist

Once you’ve found a succulent that you’re a fan of, you need to scan the street for witnesses. Once you’re convinced you’re alone, reach over the fence and gently tug a whole leaf from the plant. You can give the leaf a wiggle from side to side to help loosen it, and then make sure you’ve got the whole of the edge of the leaf.

leafremoval-iloveimg-compressed.gif

Here’s an example on a jade plant of what a good and a bad removed leaf would look like:-
goodbad.png




The Waiting Game

Once you’ve acquired your gems, the next step is to lay them out on a dry spot. I usually use the coffee table.

sittingleafs.png

Wait a few days. You want the raw edge of the leaf to callous over. If you skip this step, there is a large chance your leaf will just rot. This is obviously not ideal if you are looking to grow a beautiful collection of stolen plants.

Once your leaves have calloused over, you want to select a suitable container to grow them in. You can use anything that will hold at least a 1.5cm depth of soil. I have used a plastic tray from Muji, and a round glass dish from IKEA. Put your choice of soil (I chose some normal gardening soil mixed in with a bit of perlite for a pretty look) into the container and give it a good mist from a sprayer. If you don’t have a sprayer, wet your hands and just drip them gently on to the soil. Lay out your leaves, leaving some gaps between them. When the roots start coming in, it’ll be easier to seperate the plants if they aren’t all on top of each other.

Allow the leaves to sit in a bright, but not directly lit spot. It shouldn’t be too cold in the spot you choose.

insoil.png

If you notice the soil completely dry out, you can give the soil a quick mist. You don’t want it soaking wet. As the container you chose might not have a drainage hole, it’s best not to let the plants sit in too much water. Excess water will cause the leaves to rot. The leaves you've stolen are full of water and will sustain both the plant and it's baby. And remember: under water rather than over water!




Results

After a few weeks, you should start to notice some action. As tempting as it is, don't pull your leaves out to have a look. They will be growing microscopic roots and being pulled out will only slow their growth and possibly damage new roots.

From my experience, when the leaves start doing things, it can appear in a variety of ways:-

Roots and new leaves might start coming from the bottom of the leaf:-

bottom grower.png

Roots and new leaves might start coming from points in the leaf:-

inbetween.png

Roots might come from the bottom of the leaf, with new growth coming from the top of the leaf:-

topandbottom.png

Regardless of how your leaves grow, it's a pretty interesting process and it's quite rewarding to have grown a whole new plant from nothing but a leaf.

progress.png



I'd love to read your comments, hear your thoughts or see your plant photos, so please leave a comment below.

calathea | Steemit Blog

Photos, thoughts and ideas
from the garden of calathea.

Sort:  

I have never grown succulents but they have made quite a presence in the gardening world lately.

I would like to have an aloe vera plant for medicinal purposes though.

Aloe veras can be grown in the same way as described here, though I find the longer thin leaf succulents a little harder to propagate. Best of luck!

very useful article :). You could always go knock on the people's door and ask if you can raid their garden too if you're not feeling 'heist-y' ;)

That is very true! I'm not the most social person in real life so the heist seems a lot easier for me hahaha.

I've enjoyed feeling inspired by this post. I've propogated many plants (more focused on edibles) and really appreciated this info on succulents. Well laid out and great photos! I'll be asking around as yards aren't really a thing where we live. Have you ever dabbled in cacti or agaves?

Thanks so much for checking out my post, I really hope it helps.
I have a single cactus, but as I am a bit clumsy, I think any more would be a serious risk of injury for me! The kind I have is a grafted ruby ball cactus.
Agaves are really popular in gardens in my area, but I've never had one myself - I don't think I've got the space. That being said, there is a smaller one in the communal area of my apartment.

Snap! Nice post :D

Great timing, yours are coming along nicely!

I’m a big fan of the Jade Plant. I’ve never seen it with flowers like yours through. Also, can you explain the difference between a Jade and a ‘Money Tree’?

Jade plants come by many names, and money tree is one of them. However, when I think of a money tree, I think of the smaller leafed jade plant, where the leaves are the size of small coins.

Haha, The Heist part made my day, pirate's life is the way to go :)

Arrrr! Thanks for checkin' out me post!

Congratulations @calathea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74