Duplicate your plants (or those of others)

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

Good evening steemit.

I’ve got this plant that’s a bit of a drama queen. I’m pretty sure it’s an iresine bloodleaf.

It started as a cutting, never really doing much but growing leggy and dying back. I eventually found a spot it got on with but it was still getting leggy.

In addition to the legginess, I usually come home from work and it’s wilted. I give it a glass of water and go on with my night and it’s right as rain the morning. Next evening, same problem. So not only have a I got this leggy plant, but it’s lying along half the windowsill.

img3.jpg

Tired of trying to prop up a plant insistent on growing and wilting sideways, I finally lopped the top of the plant off. I gave it some space above the last set of leaves in case the top dried out. I needn’t’ve worried, it healed very nicely.

img6.jpg

Not wanting to waste the life present, I pulled off the bottom set of leaves on the cutting, dipped the end in some striking powder, pushed it into the soil next to the bottom of the plant, and called it a day. I wasn’t expecting much. A few days later, the cut stem was wilting and I thought to myself, ‘eh, I tried.’

I left it and continued my daily ritual of watering my diva plant. Slowly the cut stem picked back up and mirrored its donor in the daily ritual of wilting for my return from work.

I figured it would be interesting to post the results of the striking powder here, so I roughly pulled the cutting out of the soil. I am certain that I lost a sizeable amount of the roots by doing so. Nonetheless, I hope this pictures here give you some indication of what is possible in a short period of time (less than a month) with striking powder and a cooperative cutting. I have rinsed off most of the soil from the roots to give you a better look.

img2.jpg

img9.jpg

img8.jpg

img7.jpg

img4.jpg

My tip for growing your own cuttings would be to cut a length of plant that includes at least 3 leaf nodes (the area where the leaves come out of). Pull off the bottom leaves and dip the end into some water. Shake off the excess water and dip into the striking powder (also called rooting powder) then press deep enough into the soil for the stem to support itself.

Then just water as you would if it were a normal plant in your collection.

I’ve had some pretty good success with striking powder and cuttings, my favourite being this variety of prayer plant (possibly a Kerchoveana?). This photo depicts the plant in “night mode” where the leaves fold up (as if it were praying, thus the name). It’s hard to believe that a year ago this was just three leaves in a pot of dirt.

img5.jpg

If you have any questions about using striking powder, please feel free to comment below and I’ll try to answer as best I can.




signature.jpg

Sort:  

With some plants, I put them in a glass of water and after two weeks they usually make some roots. It’s a interesting way of propagating your plants because you can see the roots coming out progressively.

That’s another good way of doing it, though if I do the water method, I usually sprinkle in some striking powder for an extra bit of help! It’s always interesting watching things grow, I love watching my plants change over time.

I will try rooting with worm castings, they contains growth hormones so I wonder if this could replace the commercial root powder

That would be very interesting, I’d love to see your results with this

There will be a post about it. I plant to do it with mulberry cuttings

Congratulations @calathea! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @calathea! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74