You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The pros and cons of building raised garden beds from concrete blocks

in #gardening7 years ago

I'm curious how 16 feet = 10 blocks that are 16 inches in length?
10 blocks x 16 inches = 160 inches
16 feet = 192 inches
Just wondering....

Sort:  

It is entirely possible I made a mistake. Not only am I human I also have to work through a magnifying glass because of a vision impairment. Sadly, I don't think there is any way to fix a mistake once it is posted. That is one of the limits of blockchain.

Sorry to hear about the vision issue. I'm still trying to figure out if I should be making it 10 blocks long or twelve blocks long?
Thanks in advance.
By the way, you CAN edit your post!

If you could tell me how, I would appreciate it. I have not been able to find a way to do it yet. I sort of figured there was a way, but it is easy for me to overlook a link, especially if they are lighter colors and a white background

As long as you want! As short as you want, the end result is an expensive raised bed; cheaper to just to use 4x4s and 1x1s treated wood if you ask me. Though, I must say, when I was building my terrace garden beds, the first thing that popped to mind, was the concrete blocks for stability.

At any rate, you have the dimensions of a standard concrete block: 16-inch-long, 8 inches high and 8 inches wide. You want to build a bed that is 16 feet long and 4 feet wide.

The length of the bed is 16 feet. There are 12 inches to a foot, so you will need to multiply 12 and 16 which equates to 192 inches. How many blocks are required for 192 inches? You will need to divide 192 inches by 16 inches which equates to 12, 12 blocks per side for the length(Long), for a total of 24 blocks.

The width of the bed is 4 feet. There are 12 inches to a foot, so you will need to multiply 12 and 4 which equates to 48 inches. How many blocks are required for 48 inches? You will need to divide 48 inches by 16 inches which equates to 3, 3 blocks per side for the width, for a total of 6 blocks.

For both the width and length, that brings the total amount of blocks to 30 per layer assuming total width and length of the entire bed with the blocks. Remember, your inside measurements for the width will be short by 8 inches on each side for the width (one full block), as you have to account for right angles on the outside of the bed; so as she stated, just add 1 additional block per side for the width to get a working area of 16 feet by 4 feet (Inside); then the total of blocks will be 32. Hope this helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40