Peanut Butter: From Harvest to Sandwich

in #gardening7 years ago

Peanut Butter: From Harvest to Sandwich

As a follow-up to a previous writeup along with requests from followers, I will be picking up from where the last article left at. If you didn’t see it before and would be interested in checking out how to grow and harvest your own peanuts, check out the post below:

Peanuts: How to Grow and Harvest

Prepping for Roasting

Once your peanuts have finished drying, you’re now ready for them to come off the plant and go inside to prep for roasting. I’ll usually fill the sink up with a few inches of water and throw a decent number of peanuts in there. I’ll then just work my hands around in the water to remove a majority of the dirt of the dirt from the peanuts, and giving special attention to some of the more stubborn ones that had more dirt on them.

There’s no need to get them perfect, just most of the dirt removed. After doing this in a timely manner and not letting them soak too long, you’ll then want to place them out on some paper towels to dry for a few. I’ll usually wait around 10-15 minutes.

For Reference on estimating how many peanuts to use: Approximately 1 lb. of peanuts in the shell will give you about 3 cups of peanuts out of the shell. To make 1 cup of peanut butter, you will need about 1.5 cups of peanuts. So, 1 lb. of peanuts in the shell, will give you about 2 cups of peanut butter.

Roasting Your Peanuts

There are two different ways that you can roast your peanuts – either in the shell or out of the shell. Both will achieve the same results, but I prefer to cook them in the shell as I feel this gives them more even of a roasting. While your peanuts are finishing drying, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

With your peanuts arranged in a single layer on a baking sheet, place them into the oven. If you are cooking them in the shell, cook them for about 20-25 minutes. If you removed them from the shell first, cook them for about 15-20 minutes. After they are done cooking, take them out and let them cool completely. Be careful with them though, they will be extremely hot when you take them out of the oven and they will continue cooking for a few minutes while they’re on the baking sheet.

Homemade Peanut Butter

Now is the exciting part, making your very own Peanut Butter! Unknown to many people, making your own peanut butter is extremely easy…almost too easy. From the point you’re at now, you will have your peanut butter ready in about 5 more minutes.

Taking a food processor, add your peanuts and then turn the processor on. Your peanuts will first turn into a chunky powder, and then it will go to a little bit finer of a powder. Now keeping on blending it some more(this is where the magic starts to happen after about 2 minutes of processing).

You will then notice that the mixture is starting to get a little clumpy as the oil starts working its’ way out of the peanuts. Continue blending it and you will then see that creamy goodness starting to appear in the container. Initially you will see some powder sitting on the bottom, but that will disappear very soon once the mixture starts getting more uniform.

At this point, you can add some additional flavorings, if you like. I always like to add a little honey, with a pinch of sugar and salt, and adjust accordingly to taste. Continue running the food processor after putting in your additions until you reach the consistency that you like. If you enjoy a crunchy peanut butter, stop it a little sooner and stir in some chopped peanuts to your final mixture.

Now you’ve got your very own homemade peanut butter that you’re ready to enjoy! Not only do you have the pride of making your own (especially if you grew your own peanuts too), but you get to enjoy some peanut butter that is a much healthier alternative than store-bought products with all of their additives.

If you plan on eating your peanut butter relatively quick, you can leave it out on the counter. I always prefer to store mine in the fridge and it will keep for several weeks. If you want to store it for even longer, you can always store them by canning and keep your homemade peanut butter for much longer! You can even apply the same method to almonds and other types of nuts to make nut-butter.

Hope you enjoyed and feel free to ask any questions below!

Sort:  

I wonder how well peanuts could grow here just a hop, skip, and a jump south of Canada. We have a 90-day growing season most years.

Doing a quick search online, it does appear that some people do grow peanuts in Canada, so you might be alright. If you gave it a shot, I'd reccomend a shorter grow season variety such as Virginia or Spanish peanuts.

You can always start your plants inside early in the spring to give them a headstart, which would probably benefit you a bit as well. If you do give it a shot, I'd be interested in hearing how it goes!

This is the coolest post I have read all day. Thanks

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for checking my post out.

This post is awesome!!!!

I have always wanted to grow my own peanuts and make my own peanut butter, for my son is a peanut butter inhaler, he probably eats a couple pounds of peanut butter a week! Thank you so, so much for the yields per pound data, that endears you to me more than you know, and you better believe I upvoted and resteemed this post, hard, lol!!

Thanks for the resteem and glad it could help you. Peanut butter's definitely awesome (even better when you make your own) so I can understand his love! Lol Now it's it time for you to make a big batch!

I'm on it! I also think I am going to give growing them a try too, for I have pondered it over the years, but just didn't think that peanuts would make it here. Experiments are cool though! Thanks again for sharing 😊

You definitely should! It's a neat plant to grow and definitely really easy to grow as well.

Missed your previous post but I will be trying to grow my own peanuts. Such a cool project. thanks for sharing ;)

Glad you liked it! Best of luck to you with your first grow, and the fresh peanuts are a great reward too!

Thanks. i'll def make a post and tag you with the results once we get them growing ;)

Sounds like a plan. I look forward to seeing the post! If you have any questions along the way, don't hesitate to ask!

Just came back from the coast and found a 2 hectares plot of land at the edge of the national park so I'm sure I will find a good spot to start growing them. Thanks and have a great week!

it looks easy to make one :D
No wonder my friend manage to become an entrepreneur for peanut butter. Thanks for sharing.

No problem, thanks for checking my post out!

Guau thank you for share this great and easy form to make peanut butter specially with a simple tools.
Best regard @galberto

No problem and thanks for stopping by. Let me know how it goes when you make your own!

Be sure of is dear ☺☺☺☺☺

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

Thanks. I will definitely check your blog out!

Congratulations @bobwhite! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bobwhite! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35