Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit, Part 6

in #gardening7 years ago

Recently, I was griping about the weather being uncooperative.

Thankfully, yesterday's forecast was off enough for today that I got to take advantage of it. The rain came early and moved on quickly. It stayed overcast, but the breeze grew warmer as the day went on. Just enough that I had time to turn these and couple others:

into this:

I tried to get all the weed greens and as many of their roots as I could, so I won't be fighting them later on. The dirt I did leave is mostly fluffed up and ready for planting. I noticed a nice mix of perlite from previous plantings in some of the buckets, too, so that was a bonus! I tried to even it out between all of them so I wouldn't have to keep track of which ones needed more.

I'll be using the buckets as weights for the landscaping fabric project first, though. Then, I'll be able to figure out exactly where they'll end up. The weather is still very dicey - it IS May in Chicagoland, after all - so that's normal. I'll just have to be prepared to promptly capitalize on the opportunities as they come up.

It doesn't look like I removed that much material, but that bag had to weigh at least 30 lbs. (It's hard to tell the depth of it from this angle.)


I was also being watched very closely. This defunct lamppost is right outside my backdoor and has a pair of residents - one on the nest, one in a nearbe tree. Soon to be increased by the looks of things. We have be careful about getting dive-bombed if we show too much interest. Even Tinker has learned to scamper past on her way out!

Stay Tuned... !

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks, @screenname project. These 'drop ins' are an encouragement.

Gotta love the unique places birds decide to nest. At least the make for a pretty picture in that lamp!

Agreed! One pair of robins or another have been using that spot for at least 20 years. The nest gets a smidge taller each year. Perfect spot for them - they can see the entire backyard, they have a solid roof and shade most of the day. They probably think we built a condo just for them. Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90