Ragtag Garden, Part 31

in #gardening7 years ago

Since the zucchini and pole beans are still actively growing, however minimally, I decided to give them another dose of fertilizer laced potting soil.

I used the partial bag left over from the last batch, plus the entire second bag I'd unearthed during the original firepit project.

The cart was the perfect size to blend the soil and the fertilizer. When it was well mixed, I used a small tub to work out of for the containers. I use this method to keep the fertilizer away from the plant stems, as that can burn the plants.

The zucchini are looking rough, but there are lots of blossoms-in-waiting and one of the plants is developing some serious new foliage. I cleaned out a lot of the dead/dying leaves and moved the plants to improve air circulation.

The last time I did this treatment, they responded well. Fingers crossed there's enough summer left and ooomph from the plant to produce one or two more zukes. I'd take small ones at this phase of the season and be thrilled!

@amberyooper noted that it looks like I may have powdery mildew on the leaves. So far the new leaves are looking healthy, but I'll be watching for signs. The humidity has dropped, also, which should be a help, too. We'll see...

The poles beans, I believe, are producing so well due to their earlier feeding, too. The new growth low on the plants have mature beans and more blossoms, so to give them a boost, each bucket got a generous amount of the soil.

Even if the zukes are done for the year and I only get one more batch of beans, that's perfectly fine. Remember, I had no plans as late as March of this year to DO a garden. All the produce, regardless how minimal, is more than I had when I started. Besides, adding this boost of fertilizer is a step to enriching the soil for next year. Baby steps count!

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

I think that pulling all the dead and dieing leaves off the zucchini is a good way to slow down the powder mildew. It spreads from leaf to leaf. Giving the plants more air flow also helps. It's always worse when it's humid or damp.
The beans are doing really well!

That's what I'm hoping. I was thinking back on how I missed it and realized that I'd used D.E. in the area. I probably just figured the white spots were D.E. and overlooked the mildew in the process. Add in the sustained damp and there's a recipe for problems. Will be more vigilant next time!

The beans are blowing my mind. Lol! I have an upcoming post about that harvest soon...

Hi aunt-deb. Things are still pushing on for you. A little produce here and there sure beats anything at the grocery store. Got any plans for some winter veges? Your friend. 🐓🐓

Haven't really thought about winter veges, mostly because it's all buckets and they'll freeze solid quickly. I'd have to figure out some way to insulate them - like with bales or somesuch. I'm basically five miles inland from the southern tip of Lake Michigan. Winter blasts from the north can get as low as 30 below, without the wind chill, which can make it feel like 60 below.

I think I'll have to work on inside pursuits and maybe learn the skills to get a jump on next spring. I have a potential set up for microgreens to try out, so that seems like a good place to start when the frost hits.

Leaves plenty of time for reading doesn't it? A little micro garden under the window would be a reminder of things to come. Didn't realize you were so far north on the lake. Don't know how you do it?! 🐓🐓

Got that right on the reading!

I was born and raised in Indiana, so that's just normal winter to me. Strategic use of layered clothing is the key. I can always put on another pair of socks...

It is just the opposite here. Read in the summer and plant in the winter. Socks are optional🐓🐓

Unrelated but I am caught up voting your blog and went to a slightly older post that has settled down so I could drop this here for your husband!

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/travel-with-barry-e-2-this-unique-statue-of-all-time-great-hockey-player-gordie-howe-is-in-the-middle-of-saskatoon-saskatchewan

Yes guy he played with Terry Sawchuk. I had that talk months ago with @merej99 also with her husband hahaha

(:

Cool beans! I'll check it out shortly. Gordie was one of hubby's favs! As a matter of fact, we keep an eye out for players who rack up a 'Gordie Howe Hat Trick'. I'm betting you're one of a handful of people who would even know what that is...

;~D

You said BEANS hahahahha!

I may have a few of the GHHT's in my stats bag from my days on ice Eddie.

Lol - somehow that doesn't surprise me!

LOL. I know.

I just put up a really good LiteCoin overview/101 post now, heading offline but if you do not know everything about LTC yet, it is a very good 101-type post.

Do not touch my puck or my teammates...... IDK what was so hard about that before I smashed people thru the glass every week.

Do not touch my puck or my teammates...

It really is a simple rule. ;~D

I made some vegetable stew today where I just threw in a little of everything. Bet you will be doing the same with your harvest!

Those are the best! The more the merrier! I don't have a lot of variety this year, but it's definitely on my radar for next season.

I'll bet you're having some of that fabulous home-made bread with your stew, too...

Thank you for reminding me I have to add some compost to my garden! I hate doing that part but it's my way of saying thanks for all the delicious goodies it provides my family and I with.

You're welcome! From what I've seen, your garden loves you back for the thoughtfulness. Sounds like a great partnership to me. ;~D

This year the bag fertilizer was a necessary evil. I know the dirt in those buckets was spent after years of neglect, so it was a quick fix. I've got all winter ahead to actually have a plan for next year.

I guess my garden does love me back 🌿☺️
Next spring start a worm powered compost bin, your plants will love it!

That's an idea I've been mulling over recently. I've got more buckets that could be adapted for a worm bin or two. Could possibly be an over-the-winter project if I tackle it properly. Food for thought!

Worms do well in a garage over the winter! @mother2chicks would know more 🌱

No garage, but I do have a utility room off the kitchen that would probably work. The towers don't take too much room, so I could probably tuck it in a corner... out of the way, but handy.

Thanks, hon!

You are welcome!
Best of luck!🌱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74