Ragtag Garden, Part 3

in #gardening7 years ago

Everything is progressing well, albeit much more slowly than I'd like.

I think every gardener knows that feeling. Even so, I can see definite evidence of growth.

Zucchini

Most of these are beginning to spread out a little. The one in the upper left corner is lagging behind the others, but it was a 'stowaway' when I bought that batch of starts. It's doing it's dangest to grow, though. It's got room for its roots now, which is the best chance at survival I could give.


Tomato

Yay! I don't have to rely on zoom to get a good picture of the tomato. The other blooms are drying up noticeably. Will keep watch for more tomatoes appearing soon.


Sweet Banana Pepper

No sign of peppers yet. The initial blooms on this one are also dried up, so another 'wait and see' situation. I am encouraged by the number of new blooms, too.

Pole Beans

The beans have gained some height in the past few days. No vines yet, but am expecting them any day. The size of leaves are also increasing for all the plants. The weather has been on the cool side, but we have warmer temps in the forecast. I think once the buckets stay warm overnight, the plants will really take off.

Overview



Rightmost



Middle



Leftmost



Peas

The peas, I think, have shown the most growth. The leaves are filling out nicely and, if you look very closely, you can see a clinging vines has reached the rigging. It's in the rightmost bucket, near the pole. The other plants aren't far behind and I'll be doing a bit of 'supervising' this week. Yay!

Overview



Rightmost



Middle



Leftmost


Cabbage

The cabbages are getting taller and filling out some. They're not crowding each other too badly yet, but I will be keeping an eye on them. I still intend to put some more dirt in these buckets, as well as the pepper. I've got to finish excavating the remaining weed/vine pile to get at the bag.


Brussels Sprouts

My babies are thriving! They're also filling out nicely and some are now taller than the rim of the bucket. I'm going to have to use the cages as a yardstick from now on. I'm good with that!

Scorecard For Newcomers

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!


Sort:  

Everything looks really nice!

Thanks! I'm pleased you like it!

Nice!!! Happy gardening! ☺

Thanks! That's the plan... ;~D

I'm so jealous! My chickens got to my peas and beans before they had a chance to flower. However, my garden is doing well even with the lack of rain here in the Southwest. Love your garden!

Naughty chickens! We'll see if mine make it that far. I'm on the lookout for bugs and such, which will probably be my main threat. The only birds around here are interested in my cherry tree. Once they've picked it clean, they're outta here.

I'll send good thoughts for some gentle rains to help you out a bit.

Thank you! And I look forward to seeing your garden grow via your blog! (I don't blame the birds for picking at your cherry tree, yum!) :)

Yeah, the winged bandits can strip it in a day. It's a Queen Anne variety, so the cherries are mostly yellow. Might as well have a target tattooed on their sides. Lol!

lol My hens are little veggie vultures so whenever I let them out to free range you can find me chasing after them like little bo peep haha

I'll bet that's quite a sight!

Everything is growing quick! Your yard is going to be so pretty with all those food plants when they are big and growing up their vines and cages.

I need to review the pictures on my past posts to see how much they've grown. When I'm out there several times a day, it seems to take forever for changes to happen. I can barely wait to have photos of the scene you've described!

Thanks! This is the wait 'n see part that drives me crazy. Lol! I'll have to work on my patience... or the remaining weedy areas... or both...

Who the hell said gardening was relaxing!?! ;~P

If my bucket garden the zucchinis will all need separate buckets very soon as they really take off and need a lot of leaf room. Otherwise looking very good and growing well.

You're right about that! They DO need a lot of leaf room. The bin was the biggest container I had, so that's where they landed. ;~D I'm hoping I can direct them to the mulched area as they grow so they'll have room to spread. I'm hoping that will also help the zucchinis mature without danger of rot.

I have a feeling I'm going to be up to my armpits in squash...

I tried to post the Back to Eden you tube clip for you. I would take them out of the bucket and place them in the mulch you have there, they will love you for it. You have the perfect back to Eden set up there and I do no dig gardens as well.

I appreciate the tip. Maybe next year.

I just got done (well almost) clearing that whole area after many years of neglect. (Check out my 'Reclaiming the Backyard Firepit' series.) The thought of roots getting into my nice, fresh, newly laid mulch makes me want to cry.

This is where I started a month and a half ago:

Yes I totally understand, my garden gets like that as well at times, I found old carpet was great as a cover to place over large areas I couldn't get to in my last garden and when I did the soil underneath was amazing, then I planted Clivia's into it, it was a good size area. I don't spray so it is hand weeding otherwise haha.

Oooooh, I like the carpet idea! The other corner of the yard has twice this size area I need to clear. I don't spray either, because of the dog. (Wouldn't anyway.) I was wondering how we were going to tackle it & carpet is a brilliant solution!

You may have just launched my next mega-project... thank you!!

Best of luck to you and your garden. May the green thumb be on your side. Patience and persistence always seems to pay off. The green thumb is not leaning in my favor.

Thanks! I need all the luck I can get. My mom was the one with the green thumb. Sadly, I didn't inherit that trait. But, you're right, I can do patience and persistence. (I'm a Taurus... real good at stubborn. Lol!)

Realistically, though, this whole project was started on a whim. The REAL project was reclaiming the area from a tangle of weeds. Any produce from these plants will be 'gravy' and I get a kick out of doing it along the way.

Oh, and I get to meet nice people on the web. Win-win!

Yeah....Those weeds sure can take a hike. Your mother is about the opposite of mine. No matter how good she does caring for her flowers, they always seem to perish in the end.

Mostly, I go for plants that thrive on neglect. This year is an aberration. Lol!

My mom passed in '09, although I wouldn't put it past her to whisper to them now and again. She never could resist a veggie patch. ;~D

In gardening, indeed, you will learn to be patient :D

Wow it's all coming together nicely :)

Thanks! It's getting far enough along that I can breathe a little easier.

Its going to be amazing when you start seeing the vegetables growing :)

I wish I were close enough to share them!

I wish I was close enough to help you :)

Congratulations @aunt-deb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40