Ragtag Garden, Part 29

in #gardening7 years ago

Found this little critter in my zucchini bin, right below the plant that had a baby zuke - which is now gone.

I don't know if it's the culprit or maybe it's just a coincidence, but the upshot is that I'm down to one zuke still on the 'vine'. In any case, it would be nice if I could ID it, so I can be on the lookout for more, if need be. I think I know what it is, but confirmation would be great!

The tomatoes are coming along very nicely! I have another one going red and seven more green ones in wings.

The pepper plant has settled in at having 3 producing at any one time. The minute I pick one, a new one takes its place within days. Oh, and the middle one isn't damaged... those are grass clippings stuck to it.

The pole beans continue to impress. They're officially a wall now.

I got very lucky that the camera decided to cooperate on close ups for the next shots! The light was perfect to show off the grown beans, baby ones just coming on, and lots of blossoms left - promising even more (if the weather holds).

The first real harvest! Not bad from a half-dead bucket of dirt and a few seeds, if I do say so myself...

My hopes for the cabbage and brussels sprouts are dimming. I'm still contemplating moving a couple of the sprouts to the now defunct pea buckets. The weather is looking favorable for that process over the coming week, so I'll have to carve out some time to tackle it.

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

My tomatoes are in late as you know but big.... and still green.

Snow peas and peas I just love, you can mail me some if you like right outta the bucket there LOL.

I was able to stop in here before I head outside shortly for the latest physio episode.

Have a nice day, say hi to your husband.

This series is still one of the greatest going ever on the blockchain.

Thanks for keeping it going.

It's so hard waiting for them ripen! So far, I've been able to resist the urge to snag a couple green ones and throw them in a brown bag to speed up the process. Vine ripened is still the best.

No peas this year...sadly. (Pretty sure I killed them by accident.) Oh, well, I'll have a better plan for next year and be more prepared from the get-go.

Thanks, bud! Take care & don't overdo!

If we sit a chair out there and stare them down for like a week, does that help them ripen faster?

LOL

I wonder if I am allowed to get a gardening badge like you have?!

I like them!

Daddykirbs does those badges and, yup, they're pretty cool! They're 1 SBD each, if I remember correctly. He did a great job on all of 'em. I think he's got a Prepper one, too.

I don't know if staring helps. If you give it a shot, let me know. If it works, I'll try, too. ;~P

Oh my gosh, I love pole beans. I grew a nice garden a few years ago when I actually had the time. I could pick a gallon of beans per night, and they tasted so great!

Nothin' like fresh picked! Plus, now I know about how many plants I need to produce a decent harvest. More beans!!!

Everything is very green.

Yup! Except the peas plants - which was why there are no pictures of them. ;~P

Great work in the garden. That bug looks almost like a type of locust or grasshopper. Hard to say from pic.

Oh yeah he is guilty as sin! Just looks like he finished a nice snack ;)

ROFL! That's what I thought, too. Evidently he was framed... ;~P

Gardens looking great @aunt-deb! The pole beans are beautiful and huge! Thanks for sharing.

That bean wall is doing pretty well, looks like a good harvest for just a few plants. It looks like you're going to have a fair amount of tomatoes from that plant.

I think I got all the beans that washed away from your place. Lol! I'm still shaking my head over how much they've grown and the amount of beans they actually produced. I can see, though, that I'm going to have to have a better system next year to handle 'live' dirt.

The tomatoes have you to thank for the biggest rootball I could give them - by planting deep & even adding a bit more dirt later on - going by one of your early videos. It took a while to get started, but dang, it's happily doing its thing. Thanks for the great advice!

"Greater Angel-Wing Katydid" pretty neat critters. Here's a cool informative blog about them!

I hope you get to harvest your one zuke! I'm jealous!

Awesome! Thanks so much, because it was really tickling my memory banks. It looked soooo familiar, but I couldn't quite place it. Y'all are the best for filling in the blanks!

Me, too, on the zuke. Soon....

I only knew because coincidentally enough, it popped up on my FB news feed today! Haha FB is still good for sooooomething! Lmao

Everything's looking good and you have got some nice tomatoes on the way, I've been getting some nice peppers lately but that's about it. By the way, very nice nails!

Congrats on the peppers. I know you've had some challenges with the heat, so it's good to hear you're getting some goodies!

Lol! Thanks for the compliment. I got lucky in the 'growing fingernails' department. Purely genetics, but they do come in handy at times. ;~D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30