Ragtag Garden, Part 26

in #gardening7 years ago

Good news on the zucchini and tomato plants, not so much for the peas.

The zucchini plants have been teasing me with some promising buds, but it's only in the last couple days, they've decided to go into full production mode. We've had some short, intense rain storms and the temps have been steady in the 80-85 F (25-30 C) range. Evidently, that's a good recipe for them as there are now three zukes, total, off to a good start. Yay!

The tomato plant has been thriving and stepping up production, too. How many tomatoes do you see?

Oh, and you can see the pepper plant in the background. It's still working on it's latest pepper and thinking about another. I'll keep you posted on progress as it happens.

My pole beans are now a solid wall of green. I've already harvested a few early beans and am waiting on a few more to make at least a serving. The blossoms are predicting a good sized harvest for the season, especially with the unexpected re-growth at the bottom of the plants. I'm very impressed with these and will definitely use this variety again!

My poor sad peas are, I think, beyond redemption and it's probably my fault. I think I overdosed them on nitrogen when I added the fertilizer mix a while back. I'm thinking about starting over and hoping for a mild autumn to perhaps have a better outcome. Soil amendment will be the first order of business if I do.

The cabbages are hanging in there. I think the bug damage threat is past and now I just have to hope they don't bolt.

The brussels sprouts are growing slowly and steadily, which is perfect. The separation between the leaves where they join the stalk is becoming more noticeable. The bugs seem to be under control here, too, knock wood. I'm still checking for new damage. So far, so good.

And, in case you were wondering what happened to that first tomato I picked...

well, hubby decided plain was best! He had it with a little salt and a dab of mayo (hadn't hit the plate yet), paired with a little chicken breast. He was very pleased with the flavor, amount of juiciness, and minimal seeds.

I don't eat 'em, but it's nice to know I can still grow a decent one!

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Sorry about the peas but it seems everything else is doing quite well! Lovely eve to you :)

Thanks. I was looking forward to them, but stuff happens. Live 'n learn...

Hope your evening is enjoyable, as well.

Thank you, happy Friday to you!

Seems like it is doing well and I forecast soon there will be zucchini coming out your ears!!

Sorry about the peas! The tomatoes are looking great though. My bucket tomatoes are doing great. It's such a great method for growing those buckets.

Thanks! Good to hear your tomatoes are doing well. It is a great method and I think I've had more luck with tomatoes than anything else I've grown this way.

You killed my pea pods, was that in purpose lol give them another go as everything else looks so good :)

Yes, it appears I did and, no, it was a boo-boo. I zigged, when I should have zagged.

;~P

Go back and do more zagging lol :)

LOL! Yes, ma'am!

@farmstead wrote about you and that is how I found you. I will have to check all of your other posts because I had no idea that you could grow vegetables in these containers! I can do that! But I guess I will have to wait until next year? Enjoy your harvest! :)

Pleased to meet you and @farmstead is a sweetie! Container gardening is fun - and almost anything that has some drainage & can hold dirt will do. Watering is usually the tricky part, but you learn what works as you go. You absolutely can do this!

Thanks and I hope you try it, too!

I see 6 tomatoes and the one on that plate looks pretty darn good to me!🐓

Good eye! The one at the top is easy to miss...

I was very pleased with the ripe one. Sliced nicely. Was firm, not mushy, and lots of 'meat'. The next ones look to be just as good.

Thanks!

Your peas look like mine now. Love the progress @aunt-deb are you on this?


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Learn About SteemitHomesteaders Here!

Sorry to hear your peas aren't as good as they could be. Thanks for the support!

Haven't been to that Slack channel yet, but have seen it mentioned several times. I might have to pop in one of these days!

I think it's just too hot for the peas at this time of year.
I think I saw 6 tomatoes on the plant, not too shabby for it just getting started with production.
Those zucchinis are looking good. They should grow pretty quickly now.

It could be. Something is making them very unhappy. Cutting my losses is looking likely.

Good eye! You get lots of practice on your own incredible plants. ;~D

I'm really pleased with the zukes. I might have to arm wrestle hubby for the first one. We both called dibs. Lol!

At least there's more than 1 zucchini growing. :-)

Congratulations @aunt-deb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87