You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another take on chilli farming

in #gardening6 years ago

Oh my, instead of following you I had actually muted you.. so I didn't notice you had responded.

Hopefully you'll still make the follow-up post in the close future :)

Which fertilizer you have been using? I hope at least some of the plants survived, I've had a poor start for my chili growing season this year too.

Sort:  

And here we go, falling inactive once again for a while and missing your reply. I did end up sowing more seeds and ended up with a couple dozen seedlings, which I neglected to transfer to large enough containers and a place with proper light (they were at a large south-facing window, but a bit too low to really get any light). I now have four "larger" (read: 15 cm plus) plants in AutoPots and a few smaller ones in cut milk cartons. Same goes for tomatoes, although there are only half a dozen or so of those. The biggest achievement this year so far is that the Starfish I germinated last year made a few flowers and is now growing the first two or three pods - something I've wanted to grow but failed for one reason or another so far.

I've been thinking of transferring the smaller plants to an NFT system, but I haven't built one yet and I'm not sure how fast they'll adjust after being in coco until now. I may just move them to a bit larger pots and place them outside as well, since I don't have a greenhouse nor enough light inside. Hopefully, I'll have everything set up better next year and can keep heating for the house better during the winter so I can get an earlier start.

I used Puutarhan Kesä at first, since I had misplaced my other fertilizers and had to buy some before all of the seedlings die of starvation. Once my wife found the fertilizers in her suitcase (packed there when we moved), I started using Nutriforte 2-component fertilizer for the AutoPot plants and PK for "manual watering". Unfortunately, Nutriforte seems to no longer offer the kit I have (Tomaatti&Mansikka and Typpi&Kalsium iirc), but I should have well enough for this year and maybe some of the next. I read they're updating their selection, so maybe they'll have something similar soon. You can also find several brands advertised for chillis, but I haven't tried any of those.

Haha, it does happen, I haven't been very active lately as the summer has caused me to do so much more than just sit at home on my computer.

Your setup seems really nice for the pots and the fertilizers. I've too noticed some good products disappearing from the market, but I've found "fatalii's finest" series and have been using those now on my hydroponic system. Still going with basic Puutarhan Kesä with other plants though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51