My Veggie Garden ๐Ÿ˜Š In Harmonization with Food!

in #gardening โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)


image.jpg


Everything started with the idea of not eating that bought-tomatoes. The taste of tomatoes grown in the garden, in the sun, cannot be compared to the taste of bought tomato (weather they are bought in the supermarket or in some organic store.) The one grown in the sun and rain I really adore, and the other one I just cannot eat. I had a luck that both of my grandparents were homesteading families. I was spending my summer times at their place, eating only food grown in the sun. Of course, I wanted to have my own tomatoes. And my own vegetable garden and orchard. From always.


But many years had to pass that I could get the opportunity to live in a house with a yard.
Now, every year I sow vegetables, and every year slightly increasing the number of species.


image.jpg
These are parsley and carrots sown last year. They have been successfully overwintered. They are even better this year. In a month I'll dig them all out and sow new seed, for this autumn and next spring. Are you eating leaves of carrot too? I love that taste.๐Ÿ˜Š


image.jpg
Zucchini


image.jpg
Watermelon


image.jpg
...flower of watermelon is also here, great!
In continental climate, they make fruit late, in autumn, but are very sweet and delicious, as those grown in Mediterranean climate.
๐Ÿ˜Š


image.jpg
Tomato flower


image.jpg
Iโ€™m already eating them!


image.jpg
In Croatian language tomato is said 'rajฤica', while 'raj' means heaven.
It is like some heavenly fruit for me!


image.jpg
..one small type of onion..


image.jpg
Brussels sprouts, my faves among vegetables.


image.jpg
Radishes, already ready for eating...


image.jpg
...not only ready for meโ€ฆ


image.jpg
...and mangold!


At the end of the summer I plan to sow several types of salads. And more mangold.



It is not difficult to make a vegetable garden at all. If I can do it, with less than 50kg, anyone can. It even takes not much time, if the garden is not large.
...
But !! my last thought is a totally wrong idea. Part of the city I live in, is inhabited by natives. All of them once used to cultivate vegetables and breed cattle, but today it is very rare. Although all of them have yards, most will prefer to go to some supermarket and buy the cheapest discount product, rather than to cultivate something on their own. Why should they bother (when they can lie down and watch tv), when someone else can do it instead of them?
โ€ฆ
Again, there is hiding one wrong thought, in my last sentences. As we harmonize with the people and animals we live with, the same process happens in coexistence with plants. Regardless of Amaryllis, cactus, apple or zucchini, all these plants are aligned with me and me with them. If we are harmonized, isnโ€™t than that kind of plant best food for me?


I do not know whether it is scientifically proven or how many people actually think about it, but it seems to me entirely logical. Not to mention the fantastic flavor of naturally-grown food in the sun and the rain!
๐Ÿ˜Š



Thank you for your attention!


@andrijana

Sort: ย 

I am from a countryside myself and we always had a harden, orchard, chickensand bees! Always ate veggies from there from early spring till late winter. The ones that could be stored in cold like potatoes, onions, beets, carrots.

The taste is absolutely incomparable! Of course there is some work to be done, but it is so worth it.

I agree with Ludmila - try the peas! Oh so so good. We sometimes plant it just to eat it raw when it is still very young. But it needs to be young. Then the peas inside are still very juicy and sweet. Later when the mature they get dry.
You can also eat the green pod they are in (when young), just need to remove the very thin skin from the inside. It is darn hard! All raw. A garden snack.

Then I have to plant some peas next year! :)
And wide yellow string beans, I love them.

Someone take a bite! ๐Ÿญ๐Ÿ˜Š

Every early morning I collect slugs in a garden. But it could be mice also.
They have never heard for private property and do not recognize the legal authority of the court! I'm helpless.
:)
Well, I have to share. I'm not only one living here.

Hahah ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š maybe u should plant cheese in other side of the garden ๐Ÿ˜‰ so u collect slugs...What kind of salad do u prepare? ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜Š Heheh

No! Cheese is mine. Forget about it!

Don't ask me about those slugs. I'm a killer. I killed thousands of them. Many thousands. Sometimes I have some mercy so I throw them in woods. I have no chance, whatever I do. They are bisexual, selbreding animals. They always win.

๐Ÿ˜ hahah dont mention cheese no more! ๐Ÿง€ Many thousands says...maybe can have a farm? Or get some like pets... ๐Ÿ˜Œ๐Ÿ˜‚ Called sluggy and softy ๐Ÿ˜ณ hahah

OMG This is really black humor.

You know what is going through my mind when I'm killing them?
Like: God, please, I don't want never ever be born like slug.
Or: Maybe they have some beautiful song, some music making all the time in a frequency that I cannot hear, and is beautiful, and I'm killing them. I'm bad person.
...
I'm telling you my dark secrets.
๐Ÿ˜ฎ

๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜‰ i wont tell any about, promissed! ๐Ÿคhehehh i think killing them would be even more disgusting than move them to another place ๐Ÿคข๐Ÿ˜ท sure they have something beauty, try to find it tomorrow morning! ๐Ÿ˜Š Hehehh

I just found one crawling toward the door of the house, he needed only 10 cm to reach the door! (It is raining) They decided to attack the house. This one was paroling, checking the situation.
Will I be alive till the morning?
Now we are entering horror movie.
That is revenge of the slugs family.
Are they all related?
I won't be alive till morning!

I love eating my vegetables fresh from the garden! How do you eat the carrot tops: Fresh in salad or do you cook them?

Mostly I'm eating combination of fried and raw food,
there is timing.... when I put some vegetable to fry, and those carrot leaves have their turn somewhere in the end of cooking... They have more saturated flavor than parsley leaves, I like it. And are very healthy, if pesticides are not used, of course.

How lovely!!!
Tomatoes in the photo are so delicious !!!
If only I could bite off :-)))
Of course, no comparison can not be with vegetables and fruits grown in garden and shop!
I was fortunate to have spent a summer vacation in the village with my aunt.
I often ate young peas, tearing off his trimmings in the garden.
What a delicious it was !!!
Cucumbers ate not washed (well that my aunt did not see :-), tearing them off in the garden.
And how many different vegetables and fruit, how delicious they were !!!
Now it's just memories ...
I really liked somebody "tasting" your radish

Yes, I remember I was eating tomatoes as apples, when was as a kid in grandma garden... :)
But not raw peas, like you :) :) :)

Try it!
Only when the peas are still young, it's so delicious!
:-)

Congratulations @andrijana! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55