Finally got to my first batch of crock pickles !

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_1593.JPG
Salt pickles also know as refidgerator pickles are what is known as a lactose fermentation. Salt pickles are easy to make and great for you.
My recipe
Stuff a quart jar full of washed cucumbers .
IMG_1588.JPG
then ad 2 heads of dill 2 garlic and a few coriander seed too the jar. Then stir 5 table spoons of sea salt.(I use half himilayan salt) into a cup of Luke warm water.
IMG_1590.JPG
Pour over the pickles add water as necessary to top off the jar. Wait . Put a lid on loose enough to allow pressure to escape. Now if you want to ferment slow so you have them later in the year stick them in the fridge. Io am looking for a quick ferment so I am sticking them in a dark corner. Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for results. IMG_1589.JPG

Sort:  

Great post! I think I will try this with some of mine also.

Yum! We love refrigerator pickles, too! Hey, we'd love to have you join us other homesteaders/gardeners/preppers over on the slack community called SteemitHomesteaders. Here's a link with info if you're interested. We have 65 members to date.

https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Something that I'd like to try as my pickled cucumbers became soggy and not nice to eat,following.

I make these too...I also throw a couple bay leaves into the jar. The tannins in them supposedly help keep the pickles crisp.

I love lacto fermentation!!! yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97