Sort:  

I was wondering if it even got that hot up there. The tomatoes last yr didn't do stellar here in the 95-100 degree heat even with watering, except the ones in the compost bin in the shade. It got less watering there, too. Curious

The partial shade probably caused less evaporation from the leaves, and I'd bet the compost bin stays a bit more moist than the regular growing dirt.
Perhaps rigging something so that the tomatoes have shade in the afternoon when the sun is hottest would be helpful for the tomato plants.

Good idea! The biggest problem last year was planting every late and bugs. That's probably the main reason I didn't get many tomatoes on those plants, actually. They were planted in straw bales. Still figuring it out this year what where and how to plant. I wish I had a farm hand to help me. The volunteer tomatoes grew up from seed all by itself. Sometimes I think about just tossing random seeds everywhere and hoping for the best haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61472.96
ETH 2381.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56