Sort:  

Hey, what month do you plant pumpkins? Do you buy starts, or do seeds? I'm so jealous. You should have a great harvest this year.

I planted seeds at the beginning of June for these pumpkins. I actually got the seeds in a bit later than I should have. I believe that these pie pumpkins are a shorter season variety, so they grow pretty fast. These pumpkins don't get real big like the decorative pumpkins do, but they have a higher sugar content in the flesh, so they're better for baking.

That's exactly what I'm looking for. I usually buy the New England Sugar Pie pumpkins sold off the rack, and they never thrive where I live.

Been trying for three years to build the best conditions for them to grow, and haven't figured out the secret yet for my garden. I get little stunted plants when I sow the seeds, or plants that lose vigor when I transplant indoor seedlings.

Let me know the name of the seeds and seed company you like if you recall.

I had to find the package. :-)
The seeds are from NKP, they are called "Early Sugar or Pie Pumpkin".

Not bad at all! It has been a hard Summer for sure. Lots of weird weather patterns. We were expecting cooler weather when we went to Marquette only to find it was in the 80's. I didn't plant a garden this year, but I have some rogue cherry tomato plants that have popped up.

Thanks!
The weather here has been more or less normal this year up to now. I know there's been a lot more rain south of us, our rainfall was about average here.

It's end of August and everything is still so green and lush. We already harvested potatoes last week and the rest of the veggies is still in the field, growing happily :)

Your garden looks great! It looks like you'll have a lot of goodies for the rest of the year!

Thank you for sharing and happy gardening!

Thank you! :-)

Hi amberyooper,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Glad to know that there are proactive people to do things, you are one of those people who are motivated to improve the place around you! Congratulations

I have never seen a multi-colored corn before! That's awesome. And you have a bountiful potato harvest! Well-done! 😍 Thank you for telling us about what happens when potatoes are exposed to the sun, that's a new knowledge for me.

Is there a difference between pumpkins and squash? I thought they are just synonyms. Anyway, maybe I have to google it myself. Hahaha! 😂

Thank you so much @amberyooper for this post. It makes me post about our garden too. 😍

Thank you!
Pumpkins are considered a type of squash, but they are a separate variety from other types of squash.

Oh, I see. Thank you for the explanation. Hehehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37