You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heirloom Seeds Part 9: Beginners Guide To Saving Seeds

in #gardening7 years ago

Excellent content! I hadn't heard of that method of fermentation to select viable seeds. I always just went by looks, but fermenting and observing definitely seems more scientific and beneficial in the long run.

Sort:  

I find the whole process of seeds so fascinating and miraculous. I read somewhere that the theory behind fermenting tomato seeds is that we are mimicking a natural process. Tomato seeds have a germination inhibitor on them that is removed during fermentation. Normally when a tomato falls to the ground it will rot and ferment, and soon after all of the viable seeds will sprout. Pretty interesting. I am not very scientific and can't explain that very well, but it sure is interesting!

That makes sense! I'm excited to try some of this out this year.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.34$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57455.52
ETH 2339.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35