Planting out squash and pumpkin seedlings

in #gardening6 years ago

IMG_20180506_190957.jpg

This evening was a good time to plant out the Pumpkin and Squashes. Evenings are generally the best time to plant out new seedlings if its warm because the soil is warm and the watering in process will soak down to roots by the time the sun hits the next morning. These seedlings have been propagated by Bunty herself and had an excellent root stock so I planted 4 Squash and 2 pumpkin plants, see Bunty's Blog for the varieties we use here in West Wales.

IMG_20180506_190902.jpg

Using a draw hoe I made little volcano style mounds and added ash, charcoal and FBB (Fish Blood and Bone). Also because I manured the area with horse manure in the winter I added lime to balance the PH of the soil. Once mixed in add the seedlings to the top of the mound and water in.

IMG_20180506_190934.jpg

I remember last year having to keep them well watered until they got their roots down and keep the area well weeded. Luckily once these babies get going they smother a large area and keep the weeds back themselves, also because they travel (upto 10m) its worth having somewhere for them to grow and train them up a bank, or in my case over an area covered in black plastic.

IMG_20180506_190943.jpg

I'm gonna start re-editing specific variety episodes so will tag this post into that once the video is made.

Happy gardening everyone!!

Sort:  

This is very cool info. I never thought of Pumpkin and Squash as weed reducers. Giving this trick to my grandmother for her overly large garden. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @iexplore. Congratulations.

All Looking good @alfie-hart. Love the windsurfing vids! Keep up the good work!

I have featured you in my week #6 Pay it Forward Curation Post. You can check it out HERE

Your a good egg @iexplore. Thank you.

Well deserved my friend. Very Jealous of your garden! :)

End of summer you will be having a good harvest I think. I like that you mentioned the fertilizer and soil amendments. I found your post from @iexplore's featuring you in the "Pay it Forward" contest.

Hey @bashadow yes we usually get a good harvest, enough to see you through to the next year. Still got a few left from last year!!

@Iexplore featured you in the pay it forward contest
some good tips . I hope you have a large harvest

Me too, off on windsurfing travels next so stay tuned...

That a nice patch man, looks like soft loamy soil

The soil @phillyc is a thing of beauty, but it has taken nearly 30 years of picking out stones as we find them and adding manure, compost and ash etc . . . I'll do a history of the plot post sometime.

They look like very healthy plants. Nice looking plot too!

Hope you got your fleece handy in case of late frost.

Where abouts in Wales are you, might be moving out that way myself in a few monthsm

Were near Laugharne the village of Dylan Thomas. The plot is actually right on the Dylan Thomas round walk, so we have a lot of passing public. @revisesociology your welcome to drop by should you be this way.

Sounds like a nice spot, but careful, I might just take you up on that!

What's the One Planet Development scene like in Camarthanshire these days. The last time I checked (which was a few years ago) it seemed to be a bit more hostile than in Pembrokeshire.

We looked into it a few years ago too, and yes it does seem pretty hostile here - like they don't really want you to do it!! but I don't how it compares to Pembs?

Well Lammas is in Pembs! I think there's much more of a precedent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53