Why I Love My Tower Garden

in #gardening8 years ago

Let me begin by saying I have zero gardening experience. Which makes me believe that if I can have success growing in the Tower Garden, anyone can. The Tower Garden is an aeroponics growing system that uses water and liquid nutrients to grow food faster and with less water. When I came across the tower garden it had two big selling features that I loved. 

First, It is perfect for growing a garden in small spaces. The garden itself has a 30 inch diameter base and stands up to 62 inches high. The standard garden comes with 20 openings to plant in and there is the option of ordering an extension kit so you can grow even more. Making it ideal for people that live in an urban setting. You can start growing an entire garden on your balcony. 

My second favorite selling feature is that you can grow indoors. For some people this might not be such a big issue. But if you live in the Canadian climate like I do this means you can have a fresh garden all year long. No longer relying on old produce from the grocery store that has been shipped in from around the world. 

The pump in the reservoir and the grow lights do need to be plugged into an electrical outlet. Since I have had my garden I have not seen any significant increase in my electrical bill. Once you place the seedlings into the garden all you have to do is keep the water reservoir filled and add the tower tonic (nutrients) and check the waters pH level. I do this about every 7-10 days. The pump and lights are set on a timer so all you have to do is sit back and watch your garden grow. 

My first attempt at gardening. Pictures taken two weeks apart.


Sort:  

Congratulations on getting started in gardening. Your Tower looks great. Is that a tomato? Yum!

Congratulations @adventurer! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @adventurer! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adventurer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63