Garden Corner, April 28




Before, after, and Farmer Sam making a plan for how to use the wood chips from @run.dog.farm!!! Woooohooooo!!!! We finally got some wood chips (and a whole bunch of logs too!) for our food forest. It's a little bit more forest-y now.

And even more forest-y with four new fig cuttings and a new peach tree from Xavi, as well as a new tifblue blueberry bush and another plum tree from the big mama plum that's given us like thirteen baby trees this year!!!! Melissa has instructed me to "stop bringing home trees" because she doesn't want a forest in her back yard.

Sorry honey, too late.

#gardencorner #permaculture

#foodforest #regenerativeagriculture #hhay #share2steem #forestgarden #gardening #homesteading #ecofriendly #plantmoretrees #trees #treehugger #chickens #forest

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


coopbadgecontributor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video15501788461.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


nateonsteemit

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

LOL "Sorry honey, too late." Poor Melissa, first bags of leaves, now trees...

She and I were talking about it when I bought that last blueberry bush. I kinda scratched my head and said "idk where I'm gonna put it, I think we're getting to the point where this is 'densely planted.'" She looked at me like we're married, and I laughed and brought home five more trees 😂🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

She puts up with a lot. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha. Once you get all the fruit, she will love it. So, did you learn to graft yet for making your plumrunners delicious? On prunus, you can graft pretty much all stonefruit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

No, I've not learned grafting yet. It's still very intimidating to me. But I've put a larger plum tree here in the garden with the intent of using it to practice grafting in the future.

I can't explain why I'm so anxious about trees. I guess in a way I've always considered them sentient. Guess I'm not your average Christian, but I don't want to hurt them or go trying things on them without a reasonable chance of success. Grafting is basically surgery, and that kinda scares me because I don't want to be unsuccessful and go hurting a tree. "Do no harm," right?

Lol I guess I'm more hippie than I thought.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would start practicing on twigs at least a pencil width big. When I first started, I used a good box cutter type thing. You can start learning the cuts, how to wrap it and such. Then, when you are ready to try on a live tree, you are a pro 😀👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, that sounds like a plan!!!

Posted using Partiko Android


Congratulations! Your @share2steem post has been featured in our weekly curation showcase which you can check out at the link below!

Keep up the AWESOME posts!!

https://steemit.com/share2steem/@jaynie/jaynie-1556732110075-the-official-share2steem-curation-showcase---no-16

Thanks so much for the feature @jaynie!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55